Health & Medicine Database Search Tips: Navigating AccessMedicine

Look up drugs A-Z, by generic name, by trade name, or by drug classification. Also included are patient handouts. Updated every 2 weeks.

Provides users with curated content from the AccessMedicine tabs that were reviewed and selected for advanced learners at the resident trainee level and above. Resources include selected textbooks, board review and advanced clinical cases and questions, quick reference materials for the point-of-care, and procedure videos to hone intervention skills. The healthcare business titles needed to complete important quality improvement and patient safety projects are only found under the Books tab here in the Hospital Corner.

Customizable handouts with comprehensive healthcare information available in adults, pediatrics, and medicines advisors in multiple languages. Written at an 8th-grade reading level and updated quarterly.

Expert physician publishing group founded out of Harvard Medical School that provides concise, curated, and authoritative medical reports of breaking medical literature as well as seminal studies in medicine. The reports include links to the original article being reported on. Browse reports by topic.

Provides differential diagnoses (DDx) of symptoms, signs, and diseases.

New presentation of the summaries found under the "Quick Reference" drop-down menu.

Includes over 30,000 world-class images useful for diagnosis that can be downloaded. More than 70 video clips of foundational diagnostic and imaging studies in five different specialties (cardiovascular, fetal ultrasonography, gastrointestinal, pulmonary, and rheumatology).

These animations explain complex pathophysiology concepts in new and beautifully animated, easy-to-understand brief videos. Each episode covers a disease mechanism. Running time of each is a student-friendly 4-8 minutes.

Engaging discussions on key principles of internal medicine, around board-style case vignettes. Students may listen and then contribute to an online or in-person discussion of the key principles within the case. Episodes are 4-8 minutes in length.

Interactive modules allow for visualization of the human body in an interactive, 3D format where both male and female anatomy modules can be viewed.

These interactive modules allow for visualization of the human body in an interactive, 3D format where both male and female anatomy modules can be viewed.

Focused, 3-D modules guide medical students through systems-based tours of the human anatomy, helping them to learn human anatomy in a systems-based, interactive format. Launching with 7 modules/tours, additional modules/tours will continue to be added to the collection throughout the year. Each module features roughly 7-10 slides.

Ready-to-view or ready-to-assign lectures for a flipped classroom pedagogy, an online course, or as a knowledge refresher. They include the pharmacology topics of cardiovascular and neurology drugs and basic pharmacotherapeutics concepts.

Demonstrate how to communicate with patients in challenging and unusual situations. This resource addresses some of the “softer skills” in medical education and helps to teach emotional intelligence.

Provides an introduction to the core concepts of patient safety in an interactive and self-paced learning environment. The current course includes three (3) modules.

Includes the pharmacology topics of cardiovascular and neurology drugs and basic pharmacotherapeutics concepts.

Complete collection for the physical exam organized into categories from head to toe.

Collection of detailed videos designed to help users through basic and advanced skills procedures, brief interventions, and applications of decision rules. Organized by different categories, such as examination and evaluation, and physiologic areas.

A medical education podcast designed for medical students, new residents, and all learners looking for a high-yield review in internal medicine. Concise episodes guide listeners through the diagnosis, management, and clinical pearls for common internal medicine problems.