Research Guides: Health & Medicine Database Search Tips: Choosing a Research Topic

Titles

In the Books tab in AccessMedicine, you will find some of the leading current, authoritative text resources. Textbooks, chapters, and chapter sections are durable URL-enabled and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS, lecture slides, etc. Check out the library at these links:

Complete Full-Text Library

With leading texts organized into broad categories.

Archived Textbooks

Access previous editions of texts retired from the main site.

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21e by Joseph Loscalzo; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. Kasper; Stephen Hauser; Dan Longo; J. Larry Jameson
Publication Date: 2022
Provides the latest in disease mechanisms, updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines, radiographic images, therapeutic approaches and specific treatments, color drawings, and practical clinical decision trees and algorithms.

The Big Picture: Medical Biochemistry by Lee W. Janson; Marc Tischler
Publication Date: 2018
Unique biochemistry review that focuses on the medically applicable concepts and techniques that form the underpinnings of the diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment of medical conditions.

COVID-19 and the Heart: A Case-Based Pocket Guide by Muhammad Saad; Timothy J. Vittorio
Publication Date: 2022
User’s manual to guide the medical practitioner in making adequate clinical judgement quickly with respect to the cardiac manifestations of COVID-19 disease. Divided into chapters based on genuine clinical cases with a proposed approach for each case.

CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2025 by Maxine A. Papadakis; Michael W. Rabow; Kenneth R. McQuaid; Monica Gandhi
Publication Date: 2025
Includes authoritative, evidence-based coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders along with a concise, yet thorough synopsis of diagnosis and treatment.

Hall, Schmidt, and Wood's Principles of Critical Care, 5e by Gregory A. Schmidt; John Kress; Ivor S. Douglas
Publication Date: 2024
Covers the diagnosis and treatment of the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care.

Fitzpatrick's Dermatology, 9e by Sewon Kang, Masayuki Amagai, Anna L. Bruckner, Alexander H. Enk, David J. Margolis, Amy J. McMichael, Jeffrey S. Orringer
Publication Date: 2019
Covers basic science concepts as well as clinical chapters that focus on relevant disease-specific pathophysiology, clinical features, diagnosis, and management.
Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, 9e by Arturo P. Saavedra; Ellen K. Roh; Anar Mikailov
Publication Date: 2023
Combines color images of skin lesions along with an overview of epidemiology and pathophysiology, and detailed information on diagnosis and treatment.

Greenspan's Basic & Clinical Endocrinology, 10e by David G. Gardner; Dolores M. Shoback
Publication Date: 2018
Provides clinically relevant coverage of metabolic bone disease, pancreatic hormones and diabetes mellitus, hypoglycemia, obesity, geriatric endocrinology, and many other diseases and disorders. Includes an appendix of normal hormone reference ranges across the lifespan.

The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3e by Richard P. Usatine; E. J. Mayeaux; Heidi Chumley; Mindy Ann Smith
Publication Date: 2019
Sections highlight specific diseases and disorders, organized by anatomic and physiologic systems, with each chapter opening with a patient story to connect the photographs with real-life clinical scenarios.
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Family Medicine, 5e by Samuel C. Matheny; Evelyn L. Lewis; Jeannette E. South-Paul
Publication Date: 2020
Evidence-based recommendations, conservative and pharmacologic therapies, complementary and alternative therapies when relevant, suggestions for collaborations with other healthcare providers, attention to the mental and behavioral health of patients as solitary as well as comorbid conditions, recognition of impact of illness on the family, patient education information, and end-of-life issues.

Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 8e by Jeffrey B. Halter; Joseph G. Ouslander; Stephanie Studenski; Kevin P. High; Sanjay Asthana; Mark A. Supiano; Christine S. Ritchie; Kenneth Schmader
Publication Date: 2022
Comprehensive text combines gerontology principles with clinical geriatrics, offering a holistic approach to this area of medicine.

Understanding Healthcare Delivery Science by Michael Howell; Jennifer P. Stevens
Publication Date: 2020
Touches on policy issues but expands coverage to practical structural, analytic, data, and research methods used to improve the delivery of healthcare. Divided into three Parts: Defining Healthcare Delivery Science; Tools to Improve Healthcare Delivery; and How to Use Analytics in Healthcare. Includes Case Examples; Key Points; Cautions; and Links to External Resources.

Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, 16e by Anthony L. Mescher
Call Number: QM551 .M47 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Delivers a presentation of cell biology and histology that integrates the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology, and provides a foundation for subsequent studies in pathology.

Huppert's Notes: Pathophysiology and Clinical Pearls for Internal Medicine by Laura Huppert
Publication Date: 2021
Provides succinct descriptions of common medical conditions and disease states, proven tips on how to distinguish them, and the appropriate treatment course highlighted with conditions.
Understanding Telehealth by Karen Schulder Rheuban; Elizabeth A. Krupinski
Publication Date: 2018
Explains how clinical applications leveraging telehealth technology are optimizing healthcare delivery. It begins with essential background information, including a look at telehealth history, definitions and roles, and rural health. It then provides an overview of clinical services for adults, from telestroke to telepsychiatry. The third section addresses pediatric clinical services, encompassing pediatric emergency and critical care, telecardiology, and more.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21e by Joseph Loscalzo; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. Kasper; Stephen Hauser; Dan Longo; J. Larry Jameson
Publication Date: 2022
Provides the latest in disease mechanisms, updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines, radiographic images, therapeutic approaches and specific treatments, color drawings, and practical clinical decision trees and algorithms.
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11e by Manish Suneja; Richard F. LeBlond; Donald D. Brown; Joseph F. Szot
Publication Date: 2020
Describes how to obtain a complete history and perform a thorough physical examination.
Guide to Diagnostic Tests, 7e by Diana Nicoll; Michael Pignone; Stephen J. McPhee; Chuanyi Mark Lu
Publication Date: 2017
Guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. Includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis.
Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide, 4e by Scott D. C. Stern; Adam S. Cifu; Diane Altkorn
Publication Date: 2020
Teaches an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints.

Jawetz, Melnick, & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology, 28e by Stephen A. Morse; Janet S. Butel; Karen C. Carroll; Timothy A. Mietzner; Steve Miller; Stefan Riedel
Publication Date: 2019
Links fundamental principles with the diagnosis and treatment of microbial infections. Along with brief descriptions of each organism, you will find vital perspectives on pathogenesis, diagnostic laboratory tests, clinical findings, treatment, and epidemiology.

Pathology: A Modern Case Study, 2e by Howard Reisner
Publication Date: 2020
Emphasizes the molecular and cellular biology essential to understanding the concepts of disease causation. Includes numerous case studies designed to highlight the role of the pathologist in the team that provides patient care.

Pathophysiology of Disease, 8e by Gary D. Hammer; Stephen J. McPhee
Publication Date: 2018
Reviews the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice.

Emotion in the Clinical Encounter by Rachel Schwartz; Judith A. Hall; Lars G. Osterberg
Publication Date: 2021
Builds your understanding of the science of emotion and delivers practical insights for recognizing, acknowledging, and responding to patients' emotions, as well as your own.
Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: An Evidence-Based Method, 4e by Robert C. Smith; Auguste H. Fortin; Francesca C. Dwamena; Richard M. Frankel; Brenda L. Lepisto
Publication Date: 2019
Comprehensive, evidence-based introduction to the principles and practices of patient communication in a clinical setting.

Goodman & Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14e by Laurence Brunton; Bjorn Knollmann
Publication Date: 2022
Represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology.
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 15e by Bertram G. Katzung; Anthony J. Trevor
Publication Date: 2021
Covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice.

The Big Picture Physiology: Medical Course & Step 1 Review, 2e by Jonathan D. Kibble
Publication Date: 2020
Offers a complete yet concise treatment of the major topics in medical physiology.
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, 26e by Kim E. Barrett, Susan M. Barman, Heddwen L. Brooks, Jason X.-J. Yuan
Publication Date: 2019
Incorporates examples from clinical medicine to illustrate important physiologic concepts.

Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health and Preventive Medicine, 16e by Matthew L. Boulton; Robert H. Wallace
Publication Date: 2022
Provides the most current information and insights available on evidence-based public health and preventive medicine, from basic methodologies of public health to principles of epidemiology and infection control to environmental toxicology to global health.

Pocket Guide to POCUS: Point-Of-Care Tips for Point-of-Care Ultrasound by Cameron Baston; Christy Moore; Elizabeth A. Krebs; Anthony J. Dean; Nova Panebianco
Publication Date: 2019
Presents the most salient techniques and concepts in point-of-care ultrasound to clinicians and students at all levels of training.

Tips for Choosing a Topic

See what's new: Check out our panels on the AccessMedicine homepage to discover recently added and updated resources, to watch a procedure, or find review materials to prepare for exams.
- Why Is Everyone Searching...: Each week on our AccessMedicine Network, we take a closer look at one particular topic that's trending in breaking medical news. Learn more about this week's topic, and follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn so you can stay in the loop!
- McGraw-Hill Author Interviews: Check out the Author Interview Channel on AccessMedicine Network, which was created to feature McGraw-Hill authors and their thoughts on medical content and news.
Browse our video collection: A unique collection of anesthesiology procedural videos and animations designed to guide students, residents, faculty, and practicing physicians through basic and advanced skills.
Use the related links to explore further: Links to related AccessMedicine content appear throughout all content types in the site. A related content section appears in many of the texts' right sidebar with links to relevant media and other content.
Link to external content: Get additional sources from AccessMedicine. Use the references in our resources to find relevant research papers, books, and organizational websites.

Health & Medicine Database Search Tips: Choosing a Research Topic

Titles

Tips for Choosing a Topic

2 Minute Medicine

Best Minds in Medicine