Research Guides: Health & Medicine Database Search Tips: Navigating AccessPhysiotherapy

Books

Library

In this section, you can view the library containing some of the leading current, authoritative text resources. Textbooks, chapters, and chapter sections are durable URL-enabled and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS, lecture slides, etc. Check titles available using these links:

Complete Full-Text Library

With leading texts organized into basic and clinical categories.

Archived Textbooks

Access previous editions of texts retired from the main site.

Quick Reference

Quick Answers: Physiotherapy by Eric Shamus
Publication Date: 2017

Point-of-care tool that provides bulleted information about a variety of conditions and including diagnoses and treatment.

Outcome Measures Toolbox
Compilation of all measures (tools, scales, tests) used in patient interactions from the AccessPhysiotherapy resources so clinicians can access them all in one place rather than searching multiple textbooks to locate the exact resource needed.

Cases

Cases
Provides materials for short, targeted case-based learning. They vary slightly, but for each case you get a patient history and systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls, and references. Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be embedded into a course LMS page. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g. student to instructor. Cases are organized into categories and based off different resources, including:

Insight and Action for Better Patient Care
Guide to Pediatric Physical Therapy: A Clinical Approach
Therapeutic Modalities
Geriatric Physical Therapy Cases
Professionalism in the Practice of Physical Therapy
Clinical Neuroanatomy Cases
Ethics in Physical Therapy
Prosthetics and Orthotics Cases

Pharmacology for the Physical Therapist Cases
PT Case Files: Acute Care
PT Case Files: Neurological Rehabilitation
PT Case Files: Orthopedics
PT Case Files: Pediatrics
PT Case Files: Sports
Orthopedic Case Studies
Principles of Rehabilitation Medicine Case-Based Board Review

Study Tools

National Physical Therapy Examination and Board Review, 2e by Annie Burke-Doe, Mark Dutton
Publication Date: 2024

Insights from expert professional physical therapists on each component of the exam, encompassing a complete review of essential NPTE content.
NPTE® Key Term Flashcards by Annie Burke-Doe, Mark Dutton
Publication Date: 2024

Practice your knowledge of high-yield key terms and common medication for the NPTE® with these flashcards. Terms are organized by chapter, from the 2nd edition of Annie Burke-Doe and Mark Dutton’s National Physical Therapy Examination and Board Review.

NPTE Review Live
Watch the NPTE live video prep sessions here.

Visual Abstracts of Orthopedic Clinical Practice Guidelines
Infographics for acute and chronic low back pain, preventing anterior cruciate ligament sprains, and treat acute and chronic ankle sprains.

Physical Therapist Assistant Examination Review & Test-Taking Skills by Mark Dutton; Melissa Scheider; Janice Lwin; Cassady Bartlett; Annie Burke-Doe
Publication Date: 2022

Includes a breakdown of the NPTAE format, a comprehensive content review of all body systems, clinical tips, yellow and red flags, testing strategies, and sample questions, as well as two 200-question practice examinations formatted in the style of the NPTAE.

Physical Therapist Assistant Examination Review and Test-Taking Skills Q&A
Create random or custom quizzes.

Review Questions

National Physical Therapy Examination and Board Review, 2e by Annie Burke-Doe, Mark Dutton
Publication Date: 2024

Insights from expert professional physical therapists on each component of the exam, encompassing a complete review of essential NPTE content.
NPTE® Key Term Flashcards by Annie Burke-Doe, Mark Dutton
Publication Date: 2024

Practice your knowledge of high-yield key terms and common medication for the NPTE® with these flashcards. Terms are organized by chapter, from the 2nd edition of Annie Burke-Doe and Mark Dutton’s National Physical Therapy Examination and Board Review.

NPTE Review Live
Watch the NPTE live video prep sessions here.

All Review Questions
Generate random and custom quizzes from the texts, and the results can be emailed. Users will need to be signed into their Access profile.

Simulated NPTE Exam
National Physical Therapy Exam® Review Section: Online Simulated NPTE® Exam

Video & Audio

Anatomy & Physiology Revealed
Designed to help you explore human anatomy using cadaver specimens and master physiology concepts through animation. Detailed information and audio pronunciations build anatomical knowledge, and comprehensive quizzing reinforces learning.
Anatomy & Physiology Revealed Guide
Explains how to use APR on AccessPhysiotherapy, including how to share links and images.

Brukner & Khan Clinical Sports Medicine Audio & Video Selection
Listen to these on-the-go discussions on numerous topics in physiotherapy.

Ethics in Physical Therapy
Tutorials demonstrating aspects of ethics in the physical therapy profession, including:

Ethics in Physical Therapy: Clinical Judgement
Ethics in Physical Therapy: The Reevaluation
Ethics in Physical Therapy: To Stay or Not to Stay
Ethics in Physical Therapy: To Treat or Not to Treat

Gross Anatomy Lectures
Student-friendly, 10-15 minute lectures on different aspects and features of anatomy, including:

Back Muscles
Vertebral Column
Spinal Cord and Spinal Nerves
Dermatomes
Myotomes
Anterior Thoracic Wall - Structure
Mediastinum
Mediastinum: Sympathetic Pathways
Overview of Abdomen, Pelvis, and Perineum: Osteology
Overview of Abdomen, Pelvis, and Perineum: Gut Tube
Serous Membranes of the Abdominal Cavity

Foregut: Gut Tube
Foregut: Accessory Digestive Organs
Foregut: Arterial Supply
Midgut
Hindgut
Innervation of the GI Tract
Hepatic Portal System
Anatomy of the Scalp
Skull and Cranial Fossa
Overview of the Upper-Limb: Osteology
Overview of the Upper-Limb: Brachial Plexus

Interactive Modules
These modules are derived from Brukner and Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine, 4/e. Through videos, quizzes, images, and interactive elements, users will learn clinical approaches to assessment and techniques for managing common injuries and pain:

Module 1: Hip-Related Pain
Module 2: Acute Ankle Injuries
Module 3: Anterior Knee Pain
Module 4: Ankle Pain
Module 5: Acute Knee Injuries
Module 6: Lateral, Medial, and Posterior Knee Pain

Notes: (I icon), noteworthy facts (F icon), images and tables (respective icons)

Introduction to Observational Gait Analysis: A Video Series
Contains videos showing normal and pathological gait. The pathological gait videos include videos of patients demonstrating common gait deviations. Each video is about one minute long and contains a description of the gait pattern, a patient showing the deviation, and an explanation of how that deviation affects gait. These videos should be used as a supplement to traditional textbooks on gait. They were developed as a resource for physical therapy students, clinicians, and educators, with the idea of making gait deviations easily identifiable in the clinic.

NPTE Review Live
Watch the NPTE live video prep sessions here.

Pediatric Physical Therapy
This video series accompanies the Guide to Pediatric Physical Therapy: A Clinical Approach, by Martha H. Bloyer, Tricia Catalino, and Eric Shamus. These demonstration videos show assessment of motor skills for children ages 4 months, 7 months, 16 months, 21 months, and 13 years. Videos with infants demonstrate assessment of gross motor abilities using the Alberta Infant Motor Scales (AIMS). Videos of older patients offer demonstration of activities like walking, running, transition (floor to stand), climbing stairs, coordination, and more. Regular Q&A and discussion prompts offer opportunities for self-assessment.

Physiology Lectures for USMLE Review

Therapeutic Modalities

Video Collection
Offers users student-friendly length procedural and conceptual videos in different categories navigable on the left-hand sidebar, including:

Clinical Presentation of Disease
Diagnosis
Examination/Evaluation
Interventions
Medical/Surgical Procedures
Physiologic Areas
Specialty Areas

Drugs

Drug Monographs
Look up drugs A-Z, by generic name, by trade name, or by drug classification. Also included are patient handouts. Updated every 2 weeks.
Drug Monographs Video Tutorial

Health & Medicine Database Search Tips: Navigating AccessPhysiotherapy