Skip to Main Content
Search this Guide
A biography is a detailed description or account of someone's life and the times, which is told by a different author. In addition to impersonal facts, it also portrays the subject's experience of those events.
By Discipline / Topic
Criminals & Criminologists
Film, Theater & TV
Plastics & Polymers
Search for Articles
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
This link opens in a new window
Allows you to determine where to find biographical material on people from all time periods, geographic locations, and fields of endeavor.
Gale In Context: Biography
Includes more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Full-text articles from biographical encyclopedias.
Books in the Library Collection
A to Z of Scientists in Space & Astronomy
Call Number: REF QB35 .T63 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Contains biographies of about 130 scientists in space and astronomy, from antiquity to the present.
American Men and Women of Science, 29th ed.
Andrea Kovacs Henderson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2005-2012
Profiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists.
Brief biographies of deceased National Academy of Sciences members, written by those who knew them or their work.
The Bruce Medalists
Awarded to individuals for lifetime contributions to astronomy. Past recipients can be viewed alphabetically by name or by year.
History of Astronomy: Persons
Includes not only astronomers, but also persons with relation to astronomy: Scholars from other fields who did investigations in astronomy, makers of astronomical instruments, etc.
SACNAS Biography Project
From the Society for Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science.
Women in Astronomy: A Comprehensive Bibliography
Alphabetical listing of print resources where you will find biographical information on women astronomers.
Collection of videos and essays from women across the agency who contribute to NASA’s mission.
Sep 27, 2021 12:23 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.