Research Guides: Biographies: Authors

Search for Articles

Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.

Search Tip:

Click on Person Search, which will return items that were written by that person or that contain a significant amount of information about him or her. Remember: Several people may have the same name. There will be a way to narrow your search further once you get to this page. Once you select the correct author, click on Biographies under the Content Type heading.

Literary Biographies
Literary biographies reviewed by The New York Times Book Review since Dec. 31, 2000.

Search for Books

WorldCat This link opens in a new window

Search Tips

Search your author as a keyword using quotation marks: "stephen king"
To search your author as a subject (books about him/her), start your search with su:last name, first name
To search for books written by your author (his/her works), start your search with au:last name, first name
Use Advanced Search to combine search categories, as well as limit by date, format, etc.
To search other libraries, select Libraries Worldwide

Google Books
Search book content for previews or free full-text. If you need more content, search WorldCat and expand your search to Libraries Worldwide, then Request It from Interlibrary Loan.

Books in the Library Collection

Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Literature in English by Stringer, Jenny
Call Number: REF PR471 .O94 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Fiction, plays, poetry, and a whole range of non-fictional writing are celebrated in this informative, readable, and catholic reference book, which includes entries on literary movements, periodicals, and over 400 individual works, as well as articles on some 2,400 authors.
Cambridge Guide to Literature in English, 3rd ed. by Head, Dominic
Call Number: REF PR85 .C29 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Covering everything from Old English to contemporary writing from all over the English-speaking world, the new edition has been brought completely up to date with more than 280 new author entries, most of which are for living authors.
The Oxford Companion to Irish Literature by Robert Welch (Editor); Bruce Stewart
Call Number: REF PR8706 .O88 1996
Publication Date: 1996
In over 2,000 entries, the Companion to Irish Literature surveys the Irish literary landscape across some sixteen centuries, describing its features and landmarks.
Asian American Novelists: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook by Emmanuel S. Nelson
Publication Date: 2000
Provides alphabetically arranged entries on the lives and writings of 70 Asian American novelists.
African-American Writers, rev. ed. by Philip Bader; Catherine Reef (Revised by)
Call Number: REF PS153 .N5 B214 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Provides biographical material, a general discussion of the writer's work, and a brief list of sources for further research.
Encyclopedia of Pulp Fiction Writers by Lee Server
Call Number: REF PS374 .P63 S45 2002
Publication Date: 2002
From best-selling authors to "underground" wordsmiths, more than 200 entries profile the inventors of such genres as the western, hardboiled detective novel, spy thriller, science fiction, horror, legal thriller, crime fiction, and romance novel.
The 100 Most Popular Young Adult Authors, rev. 1st ed. by Bernard A. Drew
Publication Date: 1997
Focuses on writers of the 1990s but also includes 12 classic authors who are still widely read by teens.