Research Guides: Psychology: Find Books and Videos

Search Inside Books

Using Google Books, you can search inside every page of the books in their database. You can then use the Find in a Library link to find out if we have the book you need in the Madigan Library.

Catalogs and Collections

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text of eBooks on a variety of topics.

Classics in the History of Psychology
Christopher D. Green, Professor of Psychology, York University, Toronto, Canada
more...less...
Classics in the History of Psychology is an effort to make the full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines available on the World Wide Web. There are now over 25 books and about 200 articles and chapters on-line. The site also contains links to over 200 relevant works posted at other sites. The target audience is researchers, teachers, and students of the history of psychology, both for use in their courses on the history of psychology, and for the purposes of primary academic research. To assist undergraduate teaching, in particular, original introductory articles and commentaries, written by some of the leading historians of psychology in North America, have been attached to a number of the most important works.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital preservation repository that provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
The National Academies Press
The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. We offer more than 4,000 titles in PDF format. All of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.

Call Numbers

The Library of Congress classification for psychology is BF. More specifically, BF is broken down as follows:

BF1-990 Psychology
BF38-64 Philosophy. Relation to other topics
BF173-175.5 Psychoanalysis
BF176-176.5 Psychological tests and testing
BF180-198.7 Experimental psychology
BF203 Gestalt psychology
BF207-209 Psychotropic drugs and other substances
BF231-299 Sensation. Aesthesiology
BF309-499 Consciousness. Cognition Including learning, attention, comprehension, memory, imagination, genius, intelligence, thought and thinking, psycholinguistics, mental fatigue
BF501-505 Motivation
BF511-593 Affection. Feeling. Emotion
BF608-635 Will. Volition. Choice. Control
BF636-637 Applied psychology
BF638-648 New Thought. Menticulture, etc.
BF660-685 Comparative psychology. Animal and human psychology
BF692-692.5 Psychology of sex. Sexual behavior
BF697-697.5 Differential psychology. Individuality. Self
BF698-698.9 Personality
BF699-711 Genetic psychology
BF712-724.85 Developmental psychology Including infant psychology, child psychology, adolescence, adulthood
BF725-727 Class psychology
BF795-839 Temperament. Character
BF839.8-885 Physiognomy. Phrenology
BF889-905 Graphology. Study of handwriting
BF908-940 The hand. Palmistry
BF1001-1389 Parapsychology
BF1001-1045 Psychic research. Psychology of the conscious
BF1048-1108 Hallucinations. Sleep. Dreaming. Visions
BF1111-1156 Hypnotism. Suggestion. Mesmerism. Subliminal projection

Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide. You may also want to review the classification lists on the Human Services and Sociology Subject Guides, or browse in RA790-790.95 (mental health and mental illness prevention) as well as those classified in some of the RC ranges:

RC435-571 Psychiatry
RC475-489 Therapeutics. Psychotherapy
RC490-499 Hypnotism and hypnosis. Suggestion therapy
RC500-510 Psychoanalysis
RC512-569.5 Psychopathology
RC512-528 Psychoses
RC530-552 Neuroses
RC554-569.5 Personality disorders. Behavior problems Including sexual problems, drug abuse, suicide, child abuse
RC569.7-571 Mental retardation. Developmental disabilities

Search the Library Catalog

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.

Subject Guide

Nicole Warner, PhD

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Madigan Library
LIB 139

570-320-2400 ext. 7840

Subjects: Brewing & Fermentation, Education, Emergency Management & Homeland Security, English & Speech, Graphic Design & Art, Human Services & Restorative Justice, Humanities & Social Sciences, International, Mathematics, Psychology, Sciences