Subject-specific dictionaries are reference books that contain an alphabetical list of words with information about them that is specific to that particular subject and not necessarily generic like you would find in an average, everyday dictionary.
Hosted by the University of Waterloo and edited by Chris Eliasmith, this dictionary is intended as a free resource for all those interested in the philosophy of mind. The dictionary has a policy of blind peer review for all submissions to the dictionary. You can search the dictionary by keyword or browse it alphabetically.
With over 11,000 authoritative and up-to-date entries, this best-selling dictionary covers all branches of psychology, including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, criminology, neuroscience, and statistics. Features over 80 illustrations, recommended web links, and lists of abbreviations, symbols, phobias and phobic stimuli with full definitions.
Updated, revised, and expanded to cover new words and terms in psychiatry, neuroscience, cognitive and clinical psychology, and neurodegenerative diseases as well as relevant terms and concepts from a wide range of related fields, including genetics, imaging, general medicine, forensic psychiatry, and sociology.
With more than three times as many defined entries, biographies, illustrations, and appendices than any other dictionary of psychology ever printed in the English language, The Dictionary of Psychology is a landmark resource. The most comprehensive, up-to-date reference of its kind, the Dictionary also maintains a user-friendliness throughout. This combination ensures that it will serve as the definitive work for years to come. With a clear and functional design and written in a highly readable style, the Dictionary offers over 30,000 entries (including interdisciplinary terms and contemporary slang), more than 125 illustrations, as well as extensive cross-referencing of entries.
The dictionary contains approximately 2,000 terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts.
Fully cross-referenced and source-referenced, this dictionary contains over 1200 entries consisting of terms concerning laws, theories, hypotheses, doctrines, principles, and effects in early and contemporary psychological literature. Each entry consists of the definition/description of the term with commentary, followed by a number of cross-referenced, related terms, and by chronologically-ordered source references to indicate the evolution of the term. An appendix provides supplementary material on many laws and theories not included in the dictionary itself and will be helpful to students and scholars concerned with specialty areas in psychology.