Psychology: Guides and Handbooks

This timely resource gives you 59 codes of ethics--most in full text--revealing how 52 key associations in business, health, & law are addressing: * confidentiality * fees * advertising * consultation/referral * conflicts of interest * competence * licensing/accreditation * peer review, & much more In addition to the codes themselves, you get introductions providing contact information, membership, & code authority; ethics-related divisions & programs; ethics-related publications & seminars; organizational activities & goals; & discussion of each code's development, implementation, & enforcement. An expanded resources section gives you contacts for worldwide ethics organizations & programs--plus print & electronic media including periodicals, reference works, online bibliographies, selected Internet sites, & online discussion lists. Three indexes--by issue, profession, & organization--speed & enhance your research.

The four volumes of this ambitious reference cover, respectively, intellectual and neuro-psychological assessment, personality assessment, behavioral assessment, and industrial and organizational assessment; they are available individually or as a set. Among the topics in v.1: theories of intelligence, language assessment in children, memory and learning in adults, and the "cultural" in cross-cultural neuropsychology. Chapters in volume 2 are divided into objective and projective assessment and address such topics as the 16PF questionnaire; the diagnostic interview schedule; and projective assessment of object relations, malingering, personality in forensic settings, and affect in children's play. The third volume includes coverage of causal models of behavior disorders, principles of behavioral observations, assessment in work settings, and the DSM system. For industrial and organizational assessment (v.4), chapters are grouped into sections on cognitive ability; basic skills; personality, integrity, and interests; biographical, experience data, and interviews; job-specific knowledge and skills; simulations and assessment centers; job performance, teams, and teamwork; and employee reactions to the workplace. Annotation ©2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

Editor Gregory and contributors explore over 1,000 aspects of the human mind, including memory, language, imagination, mental illness and handicap, consciousness, sensory and extrasensory perception, and a wide array of theories, symptoms, and syndromes. Contributors come from such diverse fields as experimental psychology, linguistics, psychiatry, neuroscience, philosophy, and physics. This second edition includes updated information from new research on such topics as artificial life, imagination, and cruelty, and mini-symposia on consciousness, brain imaging, and artificial intelligence. Gregory includes a glossary and an index of subjects and contributors. Now it is impossible to excuse oneself by saying one does not have an owner's manual for one's mind. Annotation ©2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

A collection of some 100 articles on the roots of psychology illustrated with b&w photos, covering Gestalt psychology, human development and personality, abnormal psychology, various branches, and international developments. Contains 57 translations from a German edition, first published in 1993 by Quintessenz Verlags-GmbH, and 50 new English- language essays. Of interest to students and professionals in psychology. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

A fully updated, indispensable edition of the most reputable resource available in the field. Written by the leading contributors in experimental psychology. Expanded to include in-depth material on methodology, behavioral genetics, and more. Offers four volumes--Volume 1: Sensation and Perception; Volume 2: Memory and Cognitive Processes; Volume 3: Learning, Motivation, and Emotion; and Volume 4: Methodology in Experimental Psychology.

Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates in the field of psychology. Provides material of interest for students from all corners of psychological studies, whether their interests be in the biological, cognitive, developmental, social, or clinical arenas.

Covers the scientific and humanistic antecedents of psychology as a discipline, theories and systems, as well as the influential people who have fostered the growth of psychology, and the important events that shaped the direction of endeavors in the field.

Offers comprehensive coverage of behavioral genetics, behavioral neuroscience, psychopharmacology, psychoimmunology, sensory processes, and evolutionary psychology. This volume covers the underlying physiological bases of sensory processes, comparative physiological processes and other genotypic determinates of behavior.

Covers interviewing, behavioral tests, objective tests, projective tests, and observational methods of assessment.

A fully updated, indispensable edition of the most reputable resource available in the field. Written by the leading contributors in experimental psychology. Expanded to include in-depth material on methodology, behavioral genetics, and more. Offers four volumes--Volume 1: Sensation and Perception; Volume 2: Memory and Cognitive Processes; Volume 3: Learning, Motivation, and Emotion; and Volume 4: Methodology in Experimental Psychology.