Research Guides: Collection Development Plan: Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Statement

The Madigan Library fully supports Penn College's Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Belonging Statement and selects resources for the library that uphold these values:

We believe that differences have the power to challenge our perceptions. Invite exploration. Propel learning to new heights. And strengthen our community for the centuries to come. That’s why Pennsylvania College of Technology is wholly committed to creating an inclusive campus—one that welcomes all. We are dedicated to removing barriers and fostering a culture of belonging. In sync with our vision, we strive to cultivate a diverse community of innovators and creators determined to shape a better tomorrow. Because diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging matter. Because you matter.

We are determined in our work to:

Develop educational components to promote advocacy for self and others;
Attract, retain, and develop talented faculty, staff, and students from all walks of life;
Draw upon the diversity of thought, backgrounds, and identities of our constituents to nurture innovation; and
Advance policies and practices that cultivate equity and belonging and ensure inclusive access to facilities, programs, resources, and services.

We also strive to incorporate the values and guidelines for diverse collections provided by the ALA Interpretation of the Bill of Rights and ACRL Standards for Diversity:

Diverse Collections: Collection development should reflect the philosophy inherent in Article I of the Library Bill of Rights: “Books and other library resources should be provided for the interest, information and enlightenment of all people of the community the library serves. Materials should not be excluded because of the origin, background or views of those contributing to their creation.” A diverse collection should contain content by and about a wide array of people and cultures to authentically reflect a variety of ideas, information, stories and experiences. ALA, Amended 2019

ACRL Diversity Standard 4: Development of collections, programs and services: Librarians and library staff shall develop collections and provide programs and services that are inclusive of the needs of all persons in the community the library serves.

While these guidelines provide a good foundation, we are committed to striving further. The library faculty are currently working on projects to assess the content of the collections and actively seek resources and formats to reflect diverse and underrepresented voices, and more importantly, unheard voices. Our work on this will be ongoing, as we continue to learn and apply this knowledge to developing our collections. We are learning from other institutions who have been pioneering these efforts and will be investigating their strategies as well as planning our own.

Glossary of Terms

ODLOS Glossary of Terms
ALA's Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services (ODLOS) maintains this glossary of terms. This glossary is not intended to be an exhaustive list of every word and term used in our conversations about equity, diversity, and inclusion. The intent is to provide guidance and open discussion in the spirit of creating a more equitable, diverse, and inclusive society. Language can both contribute to oppression and be a tool of liberation. In recognition of the way language works, especially around these concepts, many of the words and terms will continue to evolve.

The American Library Association believes that everyone deserves equitable rights and opportunities. The goal is to create a just and equitable association, profession, and society where everyone has access to social power, resources, and physical and psychological safety. ALA has chosen to define “diversity” in all its complexity in order to recognize and honor the uniqueness of each ALA member, all members of our profession, and our very diverse communities. ALA believes that, to be inclusive, our association, profession, and society must recognize the inherent worth and dignity of every member of the community; involve and empower all members to participate and contribute; promote and sustain a sense of belonging; and value and practice respect for the talents, beliefs, backgrounds, and ways of living of all members.