Research Guides: Grey Literature in Nursing: Other Grey Lit Resources

Databases

CADTH Grey Matters
Free online tool for finding health-related grey literature that are not published commercially and which may be inaccessible via bibliographic databases.
Grey Literature Report (GreyLit Report)
Comprehensive urban health resource produced by The New York Academy of Medicine between 1999 and 2016. Materials collected include health and science policy, public health, health of vulnerable and special populations (i.e. children, women, uninsured, elderly) and those areas of general medicine and disease in which the Academy has research interests. The focus is on research material, not consumer health material. While the Grey Literature report, newsletter and database are no longer being maintained, the resources are still accessible. You can find those materials by using the “Advanced Search” feature and limiting the search results to the Grey Literature collection.
Grey Matters: A Practical Tool for Searching Health-Related Grey Literature
Free resource for grey literature searching from Canada's Drug and Health Technology Agency (CADTH).
GreyNet International
Widely known as GreyNet, this service facilitates dialog, research, and communication between persons and organisations in the field of grey literature.
OAIster
More than 50 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors. Be sure to choose "thesis/dissertations" from the content type drop-down as they may contain or refer to instruments.
OpenGrey
The System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe used to give open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allowed to export records and locate the documents. Covers science, technology, biomedical science, economics, social science, and humanities.
Sigma Repository
Free gray literature database provided by Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing.

Clinical Practice Guidelines

CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024 by Jacob A. David
Publication Date: 2024
Guidelines and recommendations for the most common outpatient conditions. Organized into topics related to disease screening, prevention, and management, and further subdivided into organ systems for quick reference.
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Inpatient Medicine, 2018-2019 by Jacob David
Publication Date: 2018
Written to spare busy physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and medical students from having to wade through full-length practice guidelines in order to provide high-quality care for hospitalized adults. With content drawn from reliable sources such as major professional societies and government agencies, each section of the book outlines the guidelines surrounding initial assessment, acute management, and subsequent care for conditions commonly encountered in the hospital setting.
Clinical Practice Guidelines We Can Trust by Robin Graham (Editor); Michelle Mancher (Editor); Dianne Miller Wolman (Editor); Sheldon Greenfield (Editor); Earl Steinberg (Editor); Standards for Developing Trustworthy Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee; Institute of Medicine; Board on Health Care Services Staff
Publication Date: 2011
Shows how clinical practice guidelines can enhance clinician and patient decision-making by translating complex scientific research findings into recommendations for clinical practice that are relevant to the individual patient encounter, instead of implementing a one size fits all approach to patient care.

CINAHL® Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. Filter by Practice Guidelines under Publication Type.
APA PsycInfo ® This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to journal articles, books, chapters in books, and dissertations published as far back as 1806, in the field of psychology, as well as related disciplines like education, medicine, psychiatry, law, and social work. Use the Advanced Search and add the phrase "practice guidelines" using the AND connector.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library. After performing your search, select additional filters. From the article types filter, select guidelines and practice guidelines. Select Show, then apply the filters to your search.

Trip: Turning Research Into Practice
Clinical search engine designed to find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Includes a PICO search option.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care tool designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Medical calculators, drug interactions, and patient education materials are included. After searching for your topic, scroll down to summary and recommendations for UTD recommendations. Scroll to society guideline links for additional guidance from outside sources.

Cross-Specialty

Clinical Guidelines & Recommendations
American College of Physicians
Clinical Practice Material
American Nurses Association
CPG Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines
Contains approximately 1,200 evidence-based Canadian clinical practice guidelines.
ECRI Guidelines Trust
Publicly available repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content that provides physicians, nurses, other healthcare providers and professionals, and members of the healthcare community with current clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care globally.
Evidence-based Practice Center Reports
From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, these reports offer comprehensive, science-based information on common or costly medical conditions and new healthcare technologies and strategies.
Guideline Central
Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Patient Care Topic Pages
American Academy of Pediatrics
U.S. Preventative Services Task Force
Makes evidence-based recommendations about preventive services such as screenings, behavioral counseling, and preventive medications.
VA/DoD Clinical Practice Guidelines
Guidelines address patient cohorts, serve to reduce errors, and provide consistent quality of care and utilization of resources throughout and between the VA and DoD health care systems.
World Health Organization Guidelines

Anesthesia & Surgical

ERAS Society Guidelies
Evidence-based guidelines in peri-operative care.
Professional Practice Manual
Find anesthesia standards, scope of practice, practice and policy considerations, and much more information relevant to your practice. From the American Association of Nurse Anesthesiology.
Statements and Practice Parameters
American Society of Anesthesiologists

Cardiovascular and Hematology

ASH Clinical Practice Guidelines
American Society of Hematology
Guidelines & Statements
American Heart Association
Medical Practice Guidelines for HIV
Find links to guidelines for health care providers covering general guidelines, HIV prevention and treatment, and specific conditions.

Endocrine, GI, and GU

ACG’s Gastroenterology Guidelines
American College of Gastroenterology
Guidelines
American Urological Association
Practice Guidelines Resources
American Diabetes Association

Medications

Institute for Safe Medication Practices Medication Safety Guidelines
Cover a variety of topics, including the safe use of technology, specific high-alert medications, and treating high-risk patient populations.
Opioid Prescribing Resources
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Orthopedic

OrthoGuidelines
American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons

Psychiatric

APA Professional Practice Guidelines
American Psychological Association
Guidelines, Updates, and Parameters
American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry