Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a dictionary?
Subject-specific dictionaries are reference books that contain an alphabetical list of words with information about them that is specific to that particular subject and not necessarily generic like you would find in an average, everyday dictionary.
Lookup Definitions Using...
Dictionary of Engineering Acronyms and Abbreviations, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: REF T11 .K43 1994
Publication Date: 1994
As a guide through the jungle of shorthand language, this comprehensive dictionary gives an overview of the many acronyms, abbreviations, initialisms, and symbols used in engineering. This edition is divided into two parts. Part A, Engineering Acronyms and Abbreviations, is greatly revised and expanded to some 70,000 entries, more than double the previous edition. Part B, Periodical Title Abbreviations and Acronyms in Science and Engineering, contains some 7,000 entries, and is intended as a handy listing of abbreviations and acronyms for the most important engineering periodicals. For readers of literature dealing with engineering subjects, not only engineers, researchers, and scientists, but also technicians, technologists, science writers, students, and even the lay public. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
A Dictionary of Construction, Surveying, and Civil Engineering, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: REF TH9 .G677 2020
Publication Date: 2020
More than 8,000 entries cover the key areas of civil and construction engineering, construction technology and practice, construction management techniques and processes, as well as legal aspects such as contracts and procurement.
Dictionary of Civil Engineering by
Call Number: REF TA9 .K88 2004
Publication Date: 2004
This English version of the French publication will be a valuable reference tool for civil engineers. There are over 12,000 definitions accompanied by more than 1,300 charts, tables, and graphs. This dictionary is a comprehensive compilation of definitions, examples and descriptions - from the study of soils, and the various materials and equipment used, including the most common architectural terms as they relate to civil engineering. The clear and concise presentation of this dictionary will easily clarify often confusing concepts and correct other lexicological errors. This compendium will be an invaluable tool not only for civil engineers, but also for lawyers, contractors, engineering and design departments, architects, etc. and all trade associations involved with this discipline. This dictionary may also be used as a valuable teaching tool.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering, 2nd ed.
Call Number: REF TA9 .M35 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Written in clear, simple language understandable to the general reader, yet in-depth enough for scientists, educators, and advanced students, The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering, Second Edition has been extensively revised, with 17,500 entries encompassing the language of engineering, includes synonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations, provides pronunciations for all terms, covers such topics as building construction, chemical engineering, civil engineering, control systems, design engineering, engineering acoustics, industrial engineering, information technology and computing, mechanical engineering, systems engineering, telecommunications, and thermodynamics, includes an appendix containing tables of useful data and information, and is based on the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.
ASTM Dictionary of Engineering Science & Technology, 10th ed. by
Call Number: REF TA402 .A86 2005
Publication Date: 2005
This comprehensive, alphabetic dictionary contains the standard definitions published in the ASTM terminology standards. A pair of codes accompanies each definition that designate both the terminology standard and committee in charge of it so that readers can consult the more complete discussion. Defined words appear in bold type; cross-referenced terms appear in italics. Some drawings and equations are included. As it's a dictionary, the volume is not further indexed. The volume was compiled by the ASTM Committee E02 on Terminology and will be an essential reference for the broad range of engineers and other specialists concerned with the materials standards codified by this organization. Annotation ©2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
ACI Concrete Terminology
ACI Concrete Terminology is an ACI standard that provides concrete-related definitions. When ACI committee reports and guides are submitted for TAC review and approval, the definitions are automatically reviewed by the Concrete Terminology (CT) Task Group. The review of these terms includes a comparison with the CT definitions. This link includes access to PDF, epub, Kindle, and Spanish PDF versions of the glossary.