Research Guides: Civil Engineering: Find Books & Videos

Why use books?

In today's online world, do books still have a part to play? Absolutely!

Books can provide you with reliable information you can count on and include in your works cited/reference page. They often provide:

Background information
In-depth coverage of topic
Chapters that can break a topic down into smaller, more easily understood pieces
Pointers to more information on the same topic

Find Books & Videos Using...

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of eBooks on a variety of topics.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text eBooks on a variety of topics. Users must create an account to download materials.
Films On Demand: Technical & Trade This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos designed for technical and trade education in agriculture, automotive technology, building & technical trades, engineering technology, information technology, technical careers, and technical communication.

HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital preservation repository that provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
The National Academies Press
The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. We offer more than 4,000 titles in PDF format. All of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.

Google Books
Search book content for previews or free full-text. If you need more content, search WorldCat and expand your search to Libraries Worldwide, then Request It from Interlibrary Loan.

The Library of Congress classification for civil engineering and surveying is TA. More specifically, TA is broken down as follows:

TA1-2040 Engineering (General). Civil engineering. (General)
TA164 Bioengineering
TA165 Engineering instruments, meters, etc. Industrial instrumentation
TA166-167 Human engineering
TA168 Systems engineering
TA170-171 Environmental engineering
TA174 Engineering design
TA177.4-185 Engineering economy
TA190-194 Management of engineering works
TA197-198 Engineering meteorology
TA213-215 Engineering machinery, tools, and implements
TA329-348 Engineering mathematics. Engineering analysis
TA349-359 Mechanics of engineering. Applied mechanics
TA365-367 Acoustics in engineering. Acoustical engineering
TA401-492 Materials of engineering and construction. Mechanics of materials
TA495 Disasters and engineering
TA501-625 Surveying
TA630-695 Structural engineering (General)
TA703-712 Engineering geology. Rock mechanics. Soil mechanics. Underground construction
TA715-787 Earthwork. Foundations
TA800-820 Tunneling. Tunnels
TA1001-1280 Transportation engineering
TA1501-1820 Applied optics. Photonics
TA2001-2040 Plasma engineering. Applied plasma dynamics

Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.

T Technology

TC Hydraulic engineering
TD Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering
TE Highway engineering. Roads and pavements
TF Railroad engineering and operation
TG Bridge engineering
TH Building construction (see the Building and Construction Call Number Guide for more detailed ranges)