Research Guides: Civil Engineering: Directories

What is a directory?

A directory is a list of names, addresses, etc., of specific classes of people or organizations, often in alphabetical order or in some classification.

Source: Wiktionary

Lookup Addresses, Phone Numbers & Websites Using...

Library Databases
Online Directories for Components & Suppliers

Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Encyclopedia of Associations, Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, Market Share Reporter, and Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies.

AECinfo
Launched in 1996, AECinfo.com is the original online resource for architecture/engineering/construction (AEC) professionals. Our industry specific database averages over one million page views per month.
The Blue Book Building and Construction Network
Search for construction companies by keyword or name, and building products from manufacturers.
Engineering Directory
EngNet® is a powerful directory/search engine/buyers guide service aimed specifically at the engineering industry to enable engineers, technicians, tradesmen, etc. to find information and communicate effectively with suppliers in the engineering industry. EngNet has been developed by engineers for engineers to service the need for easily accessible, accurate information. This site covers products, services, industries, and engineering disciplines (building and civil, electrical, electronic, instrumentation and control, and mechanical).
Find Industrial Product Suppliers & Service Providers
A dedicated online resource for the engineering, technical, industrial and manufacturing communities, use IHS Engineering 360 to browse products and suppliers, services and consultants in areas ranging from flow control and fluid transfer, to manufacturing and processing equipment, to motion and controls, and more.
Grainger Industrial Supply
This site allows you to search for products by manufacturer/brand, manufacturer model number, national stock number (NSN) and diversity of the supplier. Categories include metalworking, pneumatics and hydraulics, and test instruments. Browse products and brands alphabetically.
IQS Directory: Industrial Quick Search Manufacturer Directory
OEM manufacturing marketplace gives you 180 industry categories, each having hundreds of manufacturers, in the U.S. and Canada. From business to engineering to facility operations, this site provides multi-faceted information for research and industry analysis.
MacRAES BLUE BOOK
America's original industrial directory since 1893, MacRAE’S is where today’s industrial buyers go to find the exact product or service they need, when they need it. Using its powerful search features, users unlock the power of MacRAE’S by instantly accessing information on over 500,000 North American industrial companies with more than 2 million product listings indexed under more than 50,000 product headings.
McMaster-Carr
Search for products or browse by category, view technical drawings and 3-D models, and view Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS).
MSC Industrial Supply
You can do a quick search from the main page by keyword, manufacturer or competitor part number, by UPC number, or by NSN part number. You can also "Browse the Big Book" by an alphabetical index or by headings, such as tooling components, measuring instruments, or machinery, digital readouts, machine tool accessories, knurls, books and EDM.
Stock Drive Products/Sterling Instruments: SDP/SI
Search for products by keyword or by the image driven product index. Categories include bearings, gears, motors, pulleys, and sprockets.
Sweets Network
Access product and manufacturer information; explore the latest green products, trends, innovations and new developments; find CAD drawings and details for thousands of building products; use links to manufacturers' Websites to get further product specs and information.
ThomasNet
ThomasNet.com is a resource for sourcing, specifying and buying the products and services that keep manufacturing, commercial, construction and all other businesses’ operations running. It includes North American manufacturers, distributors and service companies, indexed by 67,000 categories, news on new and innovative products, company news and business trends and analysis, product catalogs, and CAD drawings.