Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a materials property?
"A materials property is an intensive, often quantitative, property of some material."
Types of properties can include acoustical, atomic, chemical, electrical, environmental, magnetic, manufacturing, mechanical, optical, physical, radiological, thermal, and thermodynamic.
Find Properties of Materials Using...
Materials Handbook: An Encyclopedia for Managers, Technical Professionals, Purchasing and Production Managers, Technicians and Supervisors, 15th ed. by
Call Number: REF TA403 .B73 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Coverage of more than 15,000 materials; details on chemicals, minerals, fuels, textiles, synthetics, pharmaceuticals, elastomers, ceramic coatings, industrial substances, food-stuffs, natural plant and animal subtances; thousands of new technologies and products; properties and characteristics of materials, including composition, production methods, uses, and commercial designations or trade names; and a thorough index for finding the material you need.
Engineered Materials Handbook Volume 1: Composites by
Call Number: REF TA403 .E497 1987 v.1
Publication Date: 1987
Composites is designed to be of value to working engineers. Its orientation is practical rather than theoretical, although researchers and students will also find it to be a substantial source of worthwhile information. The 998 pages in this reference book are packed with real-life, how-to-do-it information aimed at solving problems. There are 13 major sections containing 161 separate articles. The information is clear and concise, yet complete. Ranging across a broad area of useful information about structural composites for engineering applications, Composites covers the subject completely and in depth. First constituent materials - the fibres and matrix materials of which composites are made - are described in detail. The forms in which they are available for use are reviewed in depth. Sections on analysis and design of both the basic composites and structures made from composites provide guidance for design and materials engineers. Articles on manufacturing processes cover them in a practical and helpful way. Whole sections on quality control, testing and failure analysis round out the picture. Applications for and experience with composites are reported in a section that ranges across aircraft, automotive, marine, and recreational applications. A final section on materials for special applications describes metal-matrix, ceramic, and carbon-carbon composites.
Engineered Materials Handbook Volume 2: Engineering Plastics by
Call Number: REF TA403 .E497 1987 v.2
Publication Date: 1988
ASM Engineered Materials Handbook Series Volume 2 Engineering Plastics is designed and written for working engineers. The volume's Guide to Engineering Plastics Families offers articles describing 40 major engineering plastics families, 29 thermoplastics and 11 thermosets.
Engineered Materials Handbook Volume 3: Adhesives and Sealants
Call Number: REF TA403 .E497 1987 v.3
Publication Date: 1990
97 articles represent the efforts of more than 300 contributing authors and reviewers. The result is the most thorough review of the selection, design, properties, and uses of structural adhesives and sealants. The broad range of technical information presented in this volume is divided into 10 major sections including: an overview of adhesives and sealants technology, a description of the major market and application areas, classification and comparison of various adhesives and sealants, surface preparation/considerations for adherents (metals, plastics, composites, and ceramics and glasses). Methods used to test and analyze bonded structures; determination of mechanical properties (fatigue, fracture, etc.); physical characteristics (thermal and electrical); and microstructural analysis. Designing with adhesives and sealants; the performance of adhesively bonded components in various service environments; manufacturing practices associated with adhesives and sealants (including curing and cure controls), and equipment used for mixing and dispensing, quality control, and repair recommendations are covered.
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook, 3rd ed. by
Call Number: REF TA403.4 .C74 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Features data verified through major professional societies in the materials field, such as ASM International and the American Ceramic Society. This work covers a range of nonferrous alloys and various composite materials. It provides a key word indexing system and contains data sets in a single section that compares materials by property value.
Materials Handbook: A Concise Desktop Reference, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: REF TA404.8 .C37 2008
Publication Date: 2008
This unique and practical book provides quick and easy access to data on the physical and chemical properties of all classes of materials. The second edition has been much expanded to include whole new families of materials while many of the existing families are broadened and refined with new material and up-to-date information. Particular emphasis is placed on the properties of common industrial materials in each class. Detailed appendices provide additional information, and careful indexing and a tabular format make the data quickly accessible.
Heat-Resistant Materials by
Call Number: REF TA418.26 .H42 1997
Publication Date: 1997
This book is a comprehensive reference source of information on engineering metallic and nonmetallic heat-resistant materials from carbon and alloy steels to refractory metals, and ceramics to carbon-carbon composites. It covers the complete spectrum of technology dealing with heat-resistant materials including high-temperature characteristics, effects of processing and microstructure on high-temperature properties, materials selection guidelines for industrial applications, and life-assessment methods.
ACI Manual of Concrete Practice by
Call Number: REF TA439 .A358 2012 pt. 1-6 + Index
Publication Date: 2012
The ACI Manual of Concrete Practice is the most comprehensive concrete reference set available. It contains all of the ACI documents you need to answer your questions about code requirements, specifications, tolerances, concrete proportions, construction methods, evaluations of test results, and many more topics.
Physical Properties of Polymers Handbook, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: REF TA455 .P58 P475 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Offers concise information on the properties of polymeric materials, particularly those most relevant to the areas of physical chemistry and chemical physics. It emphasizes properties of greatest utility to polymer chemists, physicists, and engineers; the more synthetic- organic topics such as the polymerization process and the chemical modification of polymers are beyond the scope of this volume. Making no claim to comprehensiveness, contributors have selected and documented those results with the highest relevance and reliability. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Polymer Data Handbook, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: REF TA455 .P58 P675 2009
Publication Date: 2009
This new edition includes better values of properties already reported, properties not reported in time for the earlier edition, and entirely new properties becoming important for modern polymer applications. It also contains 217 total polymers, 20 of which are all-new, particularly in high-technology areas such as eletrical conductivity, non-linear optical properties, microlithography, nanophotonics, and electroluminescences. Examples of specific polymers include silsesquoxane ladder polymers, 'foldamer' self-assembling polymers, and block copolymers that phase separate into 'mushrooms', ellipsoids, and sheets with on surface radically different in properties from the other.
ASM Handbook, 10th ed. by
Call Number: REF TA459 .M43 v. 1-22B
The ASM Handbook series provides comprehensive and practical information on the properties and performance of materials—with a particular emphasis on industrially important metals and alloys—and the processes used in the manufacture and fabrication of components. The current series includes volumes on properties and selection, phase diagrams, heat treating, surface engineering, welding, powder metallurgy, mechanical testing, metallography and microstructures, materials characterization, failure analysis, fractography, corrosion, forming and forging, casting, machining, nondestructive testing, tribology, fatigue, and modeling.
New Enterprise Stone & Lime Co., Inc.
Although this is the home page of a company in New Enterprise, PA, it is a site that can be used to find information on concrete, asphalt, crushed stone, and sand. It also has asphalt, stone, and concrete volume calculators.
MatWeb: Material Property Data
Database of material data sheets, including property information on thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
NIST Standard Reference Data
Provides links to selected free online NIST databases.
ThermoDex: An Index of Selected Thermodynamic and Physical Property Resources
ThermoDex contains records for selected printed and web-based compilations of thermochemical and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances. You can select one or more compound types and link them to one or more property terms, and ThermoDex will return a list of handbooks that could contain these data. Due to copyright and technical considerations, the actual data are not contained in ThermoDex. ThermoDex is based primarily on the holdings of the Mallet Chemistry Library at the University of Texas at Austin. Links are provided to identify library holdings in your area.
WebElements™ Periodic Table
This site allows you to click on an element and it will display the essentials (name, symbol, atomic number and weight, CAS Registry ID, etc.), a readable and audio version of the description, and a summary of the isolation.