Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Articles Using...
Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, it features over 1,030 titles, with more than 760 available in full-text. The journals indexed in this database cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, materials science, computing, telecommunications, transportation, aerospace, climate, and more.
Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage spanning thousands of publications, many in full text. Subjects include aircraft design and engineering, arctic and tropical engineering, automotive design and engineering, bridges and tunnels, buildings, towers and tanks, civil engineering for air and space transportation, coastal and offshore structures, construction materials, design and properties of substructures, and earthmoving and construction machinery
From the American Society of Civil Engineers, the ASCE Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. It includes journal articles as well as papers from proceedings.
From the American Society of Metals, this site allows you to search for citations to articles in the ASM Handbook, books, conference papers, data sheets, journals, magazines, and phase diagrams.
Civil Engineering Database (CEDB)
ASCE's Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s.
Earthquake Engineering Online Archive
The Earthquake Engineering Online Archive is a database of significant, publicly-funded research and development literature, photographs, data, and software in earthquake, structural, and geotechnical engineering. It includes full text for EERC, SEMM, and PEER reports published at UC Berkeley, the NISEE software library, and images from EQIIS, including the Steinbrugge, Godden, and Kozak collections.
Primary search tool for Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research and development (R&D) results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI).
Envirofacts is a single point of access to select U.S. EPA environmental data. This Web site provides access to several EPA databases to provide you with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. With Envirofacts, you can learn more about these environmental activities in your area or you can generate maps of environmental information.
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains abstracts from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
International Concrete Abstracts Portal
Use ACI’s International Concrete Abstracts Portal to search for and and view abstracts of publications, including ACI Structural Journal, ACI Materials Journal, Concrete International, as well as technical documents, journal proceedings, and special/symposium publications.
National Transportation Safety Board
The National Transportation Safety Board is the world's premier independent accident investigation agency. Their responsibility is to make transportation safer, to determine the probable cause of accidents, and to develop safety recommendations aimed at preventing similar accidents. The reports contain, in a narrative form, the Board's actual findings and analysis leading to a probably cause.
As one of the world's largest repositories of U.S. Government-sponsored research results, the new National Technical Reports Library (NTRL Public Access) offers fast and easy access to more than 3 million titles, with links to over 700,000 corresponding digitized full-text technical reports. Public access does require free registration.
DTIC Technical Reports
Provides access to citations of unclassified unlimited documents that have been entered into DTIC's Technical Reports Collection, as well as the full-text of many of these documents. It provides access to the Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals, Staff College Automated Military Periodical Index, DoD Index to Specifications and Standards, and Research and Development Descriptive Summaries.
Research in Progress
The Transportation Research Board's Research in Progress (RiP) website contains the Research In Progress (RiP) Database and a data-entry system to allow users in State Departments of Transportation, the U.S. Department of Transportation, and University Transportation Centers to add, modify and delete information on their current research projects. The RiP database now contains over 8400 current or recently completed transportation research projects.
ScienceDirect hosts over 3,800 journals and more than 37,000 books—over 15 million peer-reviewed publications (and growing) from Elsevier, their imprints and their society partners.
SPIE Digital Library
The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 370,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1962 to the present. More than 18,000 new technical papers are added annually. A Digital Library subscription is not required to use the search and browse features or to view tables of contents and abstracts. Downloading full-text digital papers is available only to subscribers.
SpringerLink is an integrated database for journals and books published by Springer. SpringerLink offers free access to search tables of content, abstracts, and alerting services.
Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Program
The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Program compiles the data on toxic chemical releases and waste management activities reported annually by certain industries as well as federal facilities and makes it available through data files and database tools. The goal is to provide communities with information about toxic chemical releases and waste management activities and to support informed decision making at all levels by industry, government, non-governmental organizations, and the public.
TRID: The TRIS and ITRD Database
From the Transportation Research Board of the National Academies, TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
Wiley Online Library
Access one of the world’s most extensive multidisciplinary collections of online resources, covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across many disciplines and sources: scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other websites.
Madigan Library Access in Google Scholar
Using the file "Madigan Library Access to Google Scholar," you can also change the settings in your personal computer so that when Google Scholar finds an article within Madigan Library's Collection, you will see a "Get It @ Madigan Library" button. Clicking that button will take you to a full text version of the article on Madigan's website.
What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
- Written by experts in that field
- Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
- Contains bibliography/reference list of other sources used
For a more extensive list of characteristics, see the following guide:
Advanced Engineering Materials by
Advanced Engineering Materials is a premier source for new developments in the field of: High temperature materials; Metallic foams and other cellular materials; Precursor-derived ceramics; Corrosion of materials; Intermetallics; Multicomponent; Biomedical materials; Surface science and coating technology; Laser methods in materials processing; Modern casting and powder metallurgical techniques; Nondestructive testing techniques; Composites as structural materials; and Numeric simulation of materials behavior and processing.
Ascent Magazine by
Ascent magazine is the nation's best source for design and construction trends from the precast/prestressed concrete industry. Ascent features in-depth case studies highlighting how architects design and innovate, including how they use precast concrete to meet their program design requirements. Additionally, Ascent offers comprehensive articles from prominent industry authorities and is set to launch a Sustainability section beginning in 2011. Ascent is the building industry’s go-to periodical for architects, engineers, and other industry stakeholders.
Building Research & Information by
Building Research & Information is a leading international refereed journal focussed on buildings and their supporting systems. Unique to BRI is a focus on a holistic, transdisciplinary approach to buildings and the complexity of issues involving the built environment with other systems over the course of their life: planning, briefing, design, construction, occupation and use, property exchange and evaluation, maintenance, alteration and end of life. Published articles provide conceptual and evidence-based approaches which reflect the complexity and linkages between cultural, environmental, economic, social, organisational, quality of life, health, well-being, design and engineering of the built environment.
Cartography and Geographic Information Science (CaGIS) Journal by
Cartography and Geographic Information Science (CaGIS) is the official publication of the Cartography and Geographic Information Society (CaGIS), a member organization of the American Congress on Surveying and Mapping (ACSM). The Cartography and Geographic Information Society supports research, education, and practices that improve the understanding, creation, analysis, and use of maps and geographic information. The society serves as a forum for the exchange of original concepts, techniques, approaches, and experiences by those who design, implement, and use geospatial technologies through the publication of authoritative articles and international papers. The role of the CaGIS journal is to facilitate these objectives by disseminating results and reports in these areas of interest.
Civil Engineering by
Civil Engineering is the premier magazine of the civil engineering profession and presents information about significant projects, events, and issues of interest to civil engineers. Although it is not a technical publication, the magazine covers topics in depth and the mix of articles included in each issue is designed to appeal to a broad range of readers, who represent the full spectrum of civil engineering disciplines.
Civil Engineering and Environmental Systems by
Civil Engineering and Environmental Systems is devoted to the discussion, dissemination and development of systems techniques and their underlying assumptions through the spectrum of civil engineering activity and environmental decision-making and management. The Journal provides a comprehensive approach to the practical application and development of "hard" and "soft" systems methodologies and welcomes papers on engineering optimization, risk assessment and decision making, environmental policy and sustainable development, system identification, numerical simulation and qualitative modelling of complex systems, safety, and methods of modelling uncertainty. Attention is paid to conceptual issues as well as quantitative techniques.
Computer-Aided Civil and Infrastructure Engineering by
Computer-Aided Civil and Infrastructure Engineering is a scholarly peer-reviewed archival journal intended to act as a bridge between advances being made in computer technology and civil and infrastructure engineering. It provides a unique form for publication of original articles on novel computational techniques and innovative applications of computers. The journal specially focuses on recent advances in computer and information technologies and fosters the development and application of new and emerging computing paradigms and technologies. The scope of the journal includes bridge, construction, environmental, highway, geotechnical, structural, transportation, and water resources engineering, and management of infrastructure systems such as highways, bridges, pavements, airports, and utilities. Areas covered by the journal include artificial intelligence, cognitive modeling, concurrent engineering, database management, distributed computing, evolutionary computing, fuzzy logic, genetic algorithms, geometric modeling, internet-based technologies, knowledge discovery and engineering, machine learning, mobile computing, multimedia technologies, networking, neural network computing, optimization and search, parallel processing, robotics, smart structures, software engineering, virtual reality, and visualization techniques.
Engineering Project Organization Journal by
The Engineering Project Organization Journal (EPOJ) addresses the need to publish interdisciplinary scholarly articles in the field of organization studies as applied to the complex and dynamic engineering project domain. The scope of interest extends vertically from the individual project level to the program level and to the organizational level and horizontally through all stages of governance from initial project development to project delivery and through all areas of organization management from leadership to strategic issues. The journal welcomes papers from a diverse range of topics including: project dynamics, leadership, learning, innovation, globalization, and knowledge management.
Fatigue & Fracture of Engineering Materials & Structures by
Fatigue & Fracture of Engineering Materials & Structures encompasses the broad topic of structural integrity which is founded on the mechanics of fatigue and fracture, and is concerned with the reliability and effectiveness of structural components of any scale, geometry or material. The editors publish original contributions that will stimulate the intellectual innovation that generates elegant, effective, and economic engineering designs. The journal is interdisciplinary and includes papers from engineers, metallurgists, materials scientists, computer scientists, physicists, chemists, and mathematicians.
International Journal of Geomechanics by
The International Journal of Geomechanics (IJOG) focuses on geomechanics with emphasis on theoretical aspects, including computational and analytical methods and related validations. Applications of interdisciplinary topics such as geotechnical and geoenvironmental engineering, mining and geological engineering, rock and blasting engineering, underground structures, infrastructure and pavement engineering, petroleum engineering, engineering geophysics, offshore and marine geotechnology, geothermal energy, lunar and planetary engineering, and ice mechanics fall within the scope of the journal. Specific topics covered include numerical and analytical methods; constitutive modeling including elasticity, plasticity, creep, localization, fracture and instabilities; neural networks, expert systems, optimization and reliability; statics and dynamics of interacting structures and foundations; liquid and gas flow through geologic media, contaminant transport and groundwater problems; borehole stability, geohazards such as earthquakes, landslides and subsidence; soil/rock improvement; and the development of model validations using laboratory and field measurements.
International Journal of Pavement Engineering by
Pavement Engineering lies at the heart of modern society in both technologically advanced and developing countries. Delivery of goods and services to markets and consumers depends on the provision of reliable highway and airport pavement systems. The International Journal of Pavement Engineering is dedicated to the publication of cutting edge research and development in such important types of structures and facilities, including advanced analytical and computational techniques, pavement mechanics, laboratory techniques, non-destructive testing, innovative design approaches and their implementation, construction, performance, maintenance and rehabilitation techniques. The Journal publishes the latest research findings from all over the world together with case records of successful (and not-so-successful) usage and performance results. Hence, one of the journal aims is to bring together and disseminate results of research and practice from one country to another. Occasionally, there are state-of-the-art reviews on pavement engineering aiming to transfer advanced pavement understanding to the user community as well as special issues focussing on subjects of importance and interest to the pavement community.
Journal of Aerospace Engineering by
The Journal of Aerospace Engineering promotes the implementation and development of space and aerospace technologies and their transfer to other civil engineering applications. Topics of interest include aerodynamics, computational fluid dynamics, wind tunnel testing of buildings and structures, aerospace structures and materials, advanced composite materials, dynamics and control, real-time data acquisition, space engineering and construction, lunar base construction, field and remote sensing, and robotics.
Journal of Architectural Engineering by
The Journal of Architectural Engineering provides a multidisciplinary forum for dissemination of practice based information on the engineering and technical issues concerning all aspects of building design. Peer-reviewed papers and case studies will address issues and topics related to buildings, such as planning and financing, analysis and design, construction and maintenance, codes applications and interpretations, conversion and renovation, and preservation.
Journal of Bridge Engineering by
The Journal of Bridge Engineering publishes papers about all aspects of the art and science of bridge engineering. The journal publishes research that advances the practice and profession of bridge engineering and papers about issues, projects, materials, design, fabrication, construction, inspection, evaluation, safety, performance, management, retrofitting, rehabilitation, repair, and demolition.
Journal of Cold Regions Engineering by
The Journal of Cold Regions Engineering publishes practice- and research-oriented articles from any area of civil engineering that is substantially related to cold regions. Topics include ice engineering, ice force, construction on permafrost and seasonal frost, cold weather construction, environmental quality and engineering in cold regions, snow and ice control, cold regions materials, and surveying and planning in cold regions.
Journal of Composites for Construction by
The Journal of Composites for Construction publishes original research papers, review papers, and case studies dealing with the use of fiber-reinforced composite materials in construction. Of special interest to the journal are papers that bridge the gap between research in the mechanics and manufacturing science of composite materials and the analysis and design of large civil engineering structural systems and their construction processes. The journal publishes papers about composite materials consisting of continuous synthetic fibers and matrices for use in civil engineering structures and subjected to the loadings and environments of the infrastructure. The journal also publishes papers about composite materials used in conjunction with traditional construction materials such as steel, concrete, and timber, either as reinforcing members or in hybrid systems for both new construction and for repair and rehabilitation of existing structures.
Journal of Computing in Civil Engineering by
The Journal of Computing in Civil Engineering serves as a resource to researchers, practitioners, and students on advances and innovative ideas in computing as applicable to the engineering profession. Many such ideas emerge from recent developments in computer science, information science, computer engineering, knowledge engineering, and other technical fields. Some examples are innovations in artificial intelligence, parallel processing, distributed computing, graphics and imaging, and information technology.
Journal of Construction Engineering and Management by
The Journal of Construction Engineering and Management publishes quality papers that aim to advance the science of construction engineering, harmonize construction practices with design theories, and further education and research in construction engineering and management. Topics include, but are not limited to, the following: construction material handling, equipment, production planning, specifications, scheduling, estimating, cost control, quality control, labor productivity, inspection, contract administration, construction management, computer applications, and environmental concerns.
Journal of Energy Engineering by
The Journal of Energy Engineering reports on the scientific and engineering knowledge in the planning, development, management, and finances of energy-related programs. The journal is dedicated to civil engineering aspects of the issues, sources, and programs that are either directly related to, or can ultimately contribute to, the production, distribution, and storage of energy. Multidisciplinary subjects are especially encouraged.
Journal of Engineering Mechanics by
The Journal of Engineering Mechanics covers activity and development in the field of applied mechanics as it relates to civil engineering. Research on bioengineering, computational mechanics, computer-aided engineering, dynamics of structures, elasticity, experimental analysis and instrumentation, fluid mechanics, flow of granular media, inelastic behavior of solids and structures, probabilistic methods, properties of materials, fracture mechanics, stability of structural elements and systems, and turbulence is reported. Typically, published papers describe the development and implementation of new analytical models, innovative numerical methods, and novel experimental methods and results.
Journal of Environmental Engineering by
The Journal of Environmental Engineering presents broad interdisciplinary information on the practice and status of research in environmental engineering science, systems engineering, and sanitation. Papers focus on design, development of engineering methods, management, governmental policies, and societal impacts of wastewater collection and treatment; the fate and transport of contaminants on watersheds, in surface waters, in groundwater, in soil, and in the atmosphere; environmental biology, microbiology, chemistry, fluid mechanics, and physical processes that control natural concentrations and dispersion of wastes in air, water, and soil; nonpoint-source pollution on watersheds, in streams, in groundwater, in lakes, and in estuaries and coastal areas; treatment, management, and control of hazardous wastes; control and monitoring of air pollution and acid deposition; airshed management; and design and management of solid waste facilities. A balanced contribution from consultants, practicing engineers, and researchers is sought on engineering solutions, and professional obligations and responsibilities.
Journal of Geotechnical and Geoenvironmental Engineering by
The Journal of Geotechnical and Geoenvironmental Engineering covers the broad area of practice known as geotechnical engineering. Papers are welcomed on topics such as foundations, retaining structures, soil dynamics, engineering behavior of soil and rock, site characterization, slope stability, dams, rock engineering, earthquake engineering, environmental geotechnics, geosynthetics, computer modeling, groundwater monitoring and restoration, and coastal and geotechnical ocean engineering. Authors are also encouraged to submit papers on new and emerging topics within the general discipline of geotechnical engineering. Theoretical papers are welcomed, but there should be a clear and significant potential for practical application of the theory. Practice-oriented papers and case studies are particularly welcomed and encouraged.
Journal of Hazardous, Toxic, and Radioactive Waste by
The Journal of Hazardous, Toxic, and Radioactive Waste publishes peer-reviewed original articles on all aspects of research, planning, development and management of hazardous, toxic, and radioactive waste (HTRW). These include the traditional areas of research, design, control, restoration/remediation, construction, planning, detection/analysis, oversight, operations, regulations and policy. The Journal offers articles with both fundamental research and practical approaches/solutions to the problems and challenges faced by engineers, scientists, process managers, practicing professionals, researchers, contractors, and government policymakers.
Journal of Highway and Transportation Research and Development by
The Journal of Highway and Transportation Research and Development includes road and transportation related R&D academic papers and activities. Topics covered include: road engineering, bridge engineering, tunnel engineering, ITS and traffic engineering, automobile engineering, environmental engineering, and transport economics. The journal includes the latest practical and theoretical achievements and in-depth features as well as news and product roundups.
Journal of Hydraulic Engineering by
The Journal of Hydraulic Engineering accepts original contributions that describe the analysis and solutions of problems in hydraulic engineering. Technical Notes may present a problem, without solution, of common interest. Topics range from flows in closed conduits to free-surface flows (canals, rivers, lakes, and estuaries) to environmental fluid dynamics. Topics include transport processes involving fluids (multiphase flows) such as sediment and contaminant transport, and heat and gas transfers. Emphasis is placed on the presentation of concepts, methods, techniques, and results that advance knowledge and/or are suitable for general application in the hydraulic engineering profession.
Journal of Hydrologic Engineering by
The Journal of Hydrologic Engineering disseminates information on the development of new hydrologic methods, theories, and applications to current engineering problems. The journal publishes papers on analytical, numerical, and experimental methods for the investigation and modeling of hydrological processes.
Journal of Infrastructure Systems by
The Journal of Infrastructure Systems publishes cross-disciplinary papers about methodologies for monitoring, evaluating, expanding, repairing, replacing, financing, or otherwise sustaining the civil infrastructure.
Journal of Irrigation and Drainage Engineering by
The Journal of Irrigation and Drainage Engineering covers all phases of irrigation, drainage, engineering hydrology, and related water management subjects, such as watershed management, weather modification, water quality, groundwater, and surface water. The journal emphasizes new developments and results of research, as well as case studies and practical applications of engineering.
Journal of Legal Affairs and Dispute Resolution in Engineering and Construction by
The mission of the Journal is to serve as the technical reference and resource for construction lawyers engaged in public and private practice, as well as for design engineers, construction engineers, and executives responsible for successful project administration. The Journal provides thought-provoking discussions and insight into the legal relationships arising out of the changing nature of project delivery systems, dispute avoidance and resolution, sustainability concerns, and effective project execution. The Journal will focus on legal issues, aim to increase the attention given to legal systems during engineering and construction practice, and seek excellence in the application of legal resources for the success of engineering and construction projects.
Journal of Management in Engineering by
The Journal of Management in Engineering offers an avenue for researchers and practitioners to present contemporary issues associated with management and leadership for the civil engineer. The journal publishes peer-reviewed papers, case studies, technical notes, and discussions of interest to the practice of civil engineering.
Journal of Maps by
The Journal of Maps is a peer-reviewed, inter-disciplinary, online journal that aims to provide a forum for researchers to publish maps and spatial diagrams.
Journal of Nanomechanics and Micromechanics by
The Journal of Nanomechanics and Micromechanics brings science and applications together on nanoscale and nanostructured materials, with emphasis on mechanics, processing, characterization, design, modeling, and applications of materials containing true nanosize dimensions or nanostructures that describes novel or enhanced properties or functions that are based on tailored nanostructures. The Journal is directed at both academic researchers and practicing engineers.
Journal of Performance of Constructed Facilities by
The Journal of Performance of Constructed Facilities attempts to improve the quality of the constructed product through interdisciplinary communication. Papers examine the causes and costs of failures and other performance problems. Both catastrophic failures as well as serviceability problems are examined. Both procedural and technical causes of failures are included. Papers that discuss the interface between various professionals in the construction industry are of special interest.
Journal of Pipeline Systems Engineering and Practice by
The Journal of Pipeline Systems Engineering and Practice is a professional, authoritative technical resource that reports on a broad range of topics pertaining to the planning, engineering, design, construction, renewal, safety, operation and maintenance, asset management, environmental aspects, and sustainability of pipeline systems.
Journal of Professional Issues in Engineering Education and Practice by
The Journal of Professional Issues in Engineering Education and Practice presents issues of broad professional interest and diverse views of engineering education, and professional practice. Papers examine the relationships between civil engineering and other disciplines and professions, with emphasis on the engineer's and constructor's obligations and responsibilities. Topics include engineering education at all levels, professional practice issues, ethics, and history and heritage.
Journal of Spatial Science by
The Journal of Spatial Science publishes original peer review Research and Review Papers contributing to the theory and practice of the spatial sciences. The Journal also publishes Professional Papers that describe aspects of professional practise and implementation of techniques related to cartography, geodesy, geographic information science, hydrography, photogrammetry, remote sensing or surveying.
Journal of Structural Engineering by
The Journal of Structural Engineering reports on fundamental knowledge that contributes to the state-of-the-art and state-of-practice in structural engineering. Authors discuss the art and science of structural design; investigate the physical properties of engineering materials as related to structural behavior; develop methods of analysis; and study the merits of various types of structures and methods of construction.
Journal of Surveying Engineering by
The Journal of Surveying Engineering covers the broad spectrum of surveying and mapping activities encountered in modern practice. It includes traditional areas such as construction surveys, control surveys, photogrammetric mapping, engineering layout, deformation measurements, precise alignment, and boundary surveying. It also includes newer development such as satellite positioning; spatial database design, quality assurance, and information management of geographic information systems; computer applications involving modeling, data structures, algorithms, and information processing; digital mapping, coordinate systems, cartographic representations, and the role of surveying engineering professionals in an information society.
Journal of Sustainable Water in the Built Environment by
The Journal of Sustainable Water in the Built Environment presents activity and research developments in water issues, challenges, and opportunities throughout the developed landscape. The scope covers sustainable stormwater management and broader water systems interactions. Subjects include urban stormwater quantity, quality, hydrology, characterization, treatability, and impacts; water harvesting; urban water ecosystem services; sustainable urban watershed management; urban streams; combined sewer overflow/stormwater interactions; urban energy/water interactions; lifecycle analysis; and related policy, implementation, and economics. All papers are encouraged to have design or regulatory implications that are applicable to moving the profession forward.
Journal of Transportation Engineering by
The Journal of Transportation Engineering contains technical and professional articles on the planning, design, construction, maintenance, and operation of air, highway, rail, and urban transportation. Specific topics include airport and highway pavement maintenance and performance; management of roads, bridges, and transit systems; traffic management technology; railway engineering; and economics and environmental aspects of transportation.
Journal of Urban Planning and Development by
The Journal of Urban Planning and Development covers the application of civil engineering to such aspects of urban planning as area-wide transportation, the coordination of planning and programming of public works and utilities, and the development and redevelopment of urban areas. Subjects include environmental assessment, esthetic considerations, land use planning, underground utilities, infrastructure management, renewal legislation, transportation planning, and evaluation of the economic value of state parks.
Journal of Water Resources Planning and Management by
The Journal of Water Resources Planning and Management reports on all phases of planning and management of water resources. The papers examine social, economic, environmental, and administrative concerns relating to the use and conservation of water. Social and environmental objectives in areas such as fish and wildlife management, water-based recreation, and wild and scenic river use are assessed. Developments in computer applications are discussed, as are ecological, cultural, and historical values.
Journal of Waterway, Port, Coastal, and Ocean Engineering by
The Journal of Waterway, Port, Coastal, and Ocean Engineering presents information regarding the engineering aspects of dredging, floods, ice, pollution, sediment transport, and tidal wave action that affect shorelines, waterways, and harbors. The development and operation of ports, harbors, and offshore facilities, as well as deep ocean engineering and shore protection and enhancement, are also covered. Other topics include the regulation and stabilization of rivers and the economics of beach nourishment.
Landscape Research by
Landscape Research, the journal of the Landscape Research Group, has become established as one of the foremost journals in its field. Landscape Research is distinctive in combining original research papers with reflective critiques of landscape practice. Contributions to the journal appeal to a wide academic and professional readership, and reach an interdisciplinary and international audience.
Leadership and Management in Engineering by
Leadership and Management in Engineering, a publication of the Committee on Professional Practice, examines contemporary issues and principles of leadership and management. The focus is on understanding and application of these principles through variety of venues within the publication, including news, brief and concise leadership and management "nuggets," and short articles of interest to practicing professionals in a variety of roles and industry segments. The focus includes, but is not limited to, individuals and public and/or private entities, small and large projects, and organizations. Areas of interest are leadership; teamwork; communications; team building; decision making; partnering; project management; mentoring; coaching; diversity; department, branch, and office management; professional practice and development; budgeting; financial management; productivity management, including motivational theory, incentives, and feedback techniques, and tools; globalization; networking; change management; role and involvement in political process; local, state, and national level legislative and regulatory issues; and economic and environmental sustainability.
Materials Performance by
Covers the latest methods of corrosion control used in industries and infrastructure worldwide.
Modern Steel Construction by
Modern Steel Construction brings its readership in-depth information on the newest and most advanced uses of structural steel in buildings and bridges by focusing on innovative and cost-effective steel designs and the products that help bring them to life. MSC is directed exclusively to professionals in the construction industry who make and influence purchasing decisions—whether they are engineers, architects, building owners, contractors, fabricators, detailers or erectors. MSC is the only magazine in the United States devoted exclusively to the design and construction of steel-framed structures.
Natural Hazards Review by
The Natural Hazards Review stands on the realization that natural disaster losses result from interactions between the physical world, the constructed environment, and the character of the societies and people who occupy them. The journal is dedicated to bringing together the physical, social, and behavioral sciences; engineering; and the regulatory and policy environments to provide a forum for cutting edge, holistic, and cross-disciplinary approaches to natural hazards loss and cost reduction. The journal offers a means for researchers and practitioners working together to publish the results of truly interdisciplinary and partnered approaches to loss reduction and long-term disaster resiliency. Engineering topics covered include the characterization of hazard forces and the planning, design, construction, maintenance, performance and use of structures in the physical environment. Social and behavioral sciences topics addressed include a range of issues related to hazard mitigation and human response as well as significant issues related to the built environment such as land use, building standards, and the role of financial markets and insurance.
PCI Journal by
PCI Journal informs you with the latest authoritative information on precast and prestressed concrete research, design, construction, and industry developments. Each issue includes a wide variety of subjects to help you conceptualize, research, design, specify, produce, and erect a modern structure. Prominent authorities offer useful, comprehensive articles, effectively illustrated with design examples, drawings, and photographs.
PE Magazine by
PE magazine is the flagship publication of the National Society of Professional Engineers. Published 10 times per year, PE covers news and commentary on professional issues: licensing, engineering ethics, employment, legislative and regulatory issues, education, and many others that have a direct impact on professional engineers.
Point of Beginning: P.O.B. by
Point of Beginning is the most preferred publication serving the surveying and mapping community. Published monthly, we are dedicated to helping surveying and mapping industries succeed through our coverage of new applications and evolving technologies, practical solutions to surveying and mapping problems, and business, legal and educational issues.
Practice Periodical on Structural Design and Construction by
The Practice Periodical on Structural Design and Construction publishes articles about practical solutions to structural design problems and construction challenges of interest to practitioners. Articles may be of any length. Those reporting on small and medium-sized projects will be welcomed. Photographs are desirable; graphs, tables, and lengthy formulas are discouraged. The editors are not interested in what researchers have to say to one another; although articles must be technically sound, the overriding question in the editors' minds when considering a submission is whether the article will be of interest to a significant number of practicing engineers and contractors.
Professional Surveyor Magazine by
Professional Surveyor Magazine published articles from freelance writers and practitioners in the industry such as surveyors, GIS professionals, and photogrammetrists. Contributions included feature stories, columns, and guest editorials. Feature stories usually took the form of a case history involving a project that used a company's product or service, an overview of a certain activity or technology, or a discussion of a trend. In July 2014, this title ceased and became a new title called xyHt.
Steel Construction: Design and Research by
Steel Construction unites in one journal the holistic approach to steel construction. In the interests of “construction without depletion”, it skilfully combines steel with other forms of construction employing concrete, glass, cables and membranes to form integrated steelwork systems. Steel Construction publishes peer-reviewed papers covering the entire field of steel in construction. This journal is aimed at all structural engineers, whether active in research or practice.
Structural Concrete by
Provides conceptual and procedural guidance in the field of concrete construction, and features peer-reviewed papers, keynote research and industry news covering all aspects of the design, construction, performance in service and demolition of concrete structures.
Structural Design of Tall and Special Buildings by
The Structural Design of Tall and Special Buildings provides structural engineers and contractors with a detailed written presentation of innovative structural engineering and construction practices for tall and special buildings. It also presents applied research on new materials or analysis methods that can directly benefit structural engineers involved in the design of tall and special buildings. The editor's policy is to maintain a reasonable balance between papers from design engineers and from research workers so that the Journal will be useful to both groups. The problems in this field and their solutions are international in character and require a knowledge of several traditional disciplines and the Journal will reflect this. The main subject of the Journal is the structural design and construction of tall and special buildings. The basic definition of a tall building, in the context of the Journal audience, is a structure that is equal to or greater than 160 feet in height, or 6 stories or greater. A special structure is one with unique architectural or structural characteristics. The journal will present papers on new innovative structural systems, materials and methods of analysis.
Structural Engineering International by
Structural Engineering International (SEI), the quarterly Journal of the International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineering (IABSE), is the leading international journal of structural engineering dealing with all types of structures and materials.
Structure and Infrastructure Engineering: Maintenance, Management, Life-Cycle Design & Performance by
Structure & Infrastructure Engineering- Maintenance, Management and Life-Cycle Design & Performance is an international journal dedicated to recent advances in maintenance, management and life-cycle performance of a wide range of infrastructures, such as: buildings, bridges, dams, underground constructions, offshore platforms, pipelines, naval vessels, ocean structures, nuclear power plants, airplanes and other types of structures including aerospace and automotive structures. The aim of this journal is to present research and developments on the most advanced technologies for analyzing, predicting and optimizing infrastructure performance. The main gaps to be filled are those between researchers and practitioners in maintenance, management and life-cycle performance of infrastructure systems, and those between professionals working on different types of infrastructures. To this end, the journal will provide a forum for a broad blend of scientific, technical and practical papers.
Surveying and Land Information Science Journal by
SaLIS is a scientific journal devoted to reporting research and new work conducted to advance geodetic surveying, land surveying, large-scale mapping, and geographic information systems designed to advance the development and management of the cadastral parcel data layer and other land information applications. SaLIS publishes research articles, technical papers, technical notes, papers on the current state of surveying education, surveying history, book reviews, and current literature reviews. Every four years, the journal publishes the U.S. Report to the International Federation of Surveyors (FIG). The Proceedings of the Surveying Teachers Conference are published bi-annually.
Formerly known as Professional Surveyors Magazine, xyHt is an evolving resource for professionals in the fields of positioning and measurement. xyHt comes in the form of a monthly print magazine as well as exclusive online content, relevant and targeted news, and social media interaction.
Work from Anywhere!
The Madigan Library's databases can be accessed from wherever you are, 24 hours a day/7 days a week.
Once you click on a link to a database, you need to login with your network ID & password - the same you use to login to any campus computer.
Do we own it?
Search for the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper in which your article appears.
We don't own it...but we can get it for you!
Use interlibrary loan to request articles that we don't have. This service is free of charge for students.