Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are technical standards?
"A technical standard is an established norm or requirement about technical systems. It is usually a formal document that establishes uniform engineering or technical criteria, methods, processes and practices. In contrast, a custom, convention, company product, corporate standard, etc. which becomes generally accepted and dominant is often called a de facto standard."
"A standard specification is an explicit set of requirements for an item, material, component, system or service. It is often used to formalize the technical aspects of a procurement agreement or contract. For example, there may be a specification for a turbine blade for a jet engine which defines the exact material and performance requirements."
Find Technical Standards...
MADCAD This link opens in a new window
MADCAD contains the building codes and knowledge-based solutions and guidelines to meet the codes. It provides access to a comprehensive cross-referenced collection of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA, as well as state and local codes.
AASHTO Provisional Standards, 17th ed. by
Call Number: REF TE200 .A27 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The seventeenth edition of AASHTO Provisional Standards contains 61 provisional standards, including 14 updated and 6 new standards.
Standard Specifications for Transportation Materials and Methods of Sampling and Testing, 33rd ed. by
Call Number: REF TE200 .A615 2013 33rd ed. pt.1-2
Publication Date: 2013
The 33rd Edition of the Materials Book contains 400 materials specifications and test methods commonly used in the construction of highway facilities, including 61 revised and 7 new specifications and test methods. The specifications have been developed and maintained by transportation departments through participation in AASHTO's Subcommittee on Materials. The book edition is organized in two volumes, Materials and Testing, and each volume is separated into two books.
The American National Standards Institute oversees the creation, promulgation and use of thousands of norms and guidelines that directly impact businesses in nearly every sector: from acoustical devices to construction equipment, from dairy and livestock production to energy distribution, and many more. ANSI is actively engaged in accrediting programs that assess conformance to standards – including globally-recognized cross-sector programs such as the ISO 9000 (quality) and ISO 14000 (environmental) management systems.
ASME is the leading international developer of codes and standards associated with the art, science, and practice of mechanical engineering. Starting with the first issuance of its legendary Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code in 1911, ASME’s codes and standards have grown to nearly 600 offerings currently in print. These offerings cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing
The standards collection is searchable by standard number or by subject on the main ASTM website. Contact Jessica Oberlin
if you need access to any of these standards.
Corrosion Industry Standards Library
NACE International standards are the most specified for corrosion control in the world. There are three categories of NACE standards: Standard Practices (SPs), Material Requirements (MRs), and Test Methods (TMs).
ISO has developed over 19,500 International Standards on a variety of subjects. The full range of technical fields can be seen from the listing International Standards. Users can browse that listing to find bibliographic information on each standard and, in many cases, a brief abstract. The online ISO Standards listing integrates both the ISO Catalogue of published standards and the ISO Technical programme of standards under development.