Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is an encyclopedia?
A subject-specific encyclopedia (or encyclopedic set) is a single (or multi-volume) reference work that provides background information on a more specialized discipline.
Find Encyclopedia Articles Using...
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources. Most subjects are covered.
Building the World: An Encyclopedia of the Great Engineering Projects in History by
Call Number: REF T56 .I44 2006 v. 1-2
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
Provides information on over 40 of the most important engineering projects in World History, showing how central these projects are to the history of civilization. This encyclopedia covers Roman Aqueducts; Washington, DC; Eiffel Tower; The Channel Tunnel; and more. It includes a detailed history of the planning and construction of each project.
McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Engineering by
Call Number: REF TA9 .M345 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Based on content from theMcGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science & Technooogy,Fifth Edition, the most widely used and respected science reference of its kind in print, each of these subject-specific quick-reference guides features: detailed, well-illustrated explanations, not just definitions; hundreds of concise yet authoritative articles in each volume; an easy-to-understand presentation, accessible and interesting to non-specialists; a portable, convenient format; and bibliographies, appendices, and other information supplement the articles.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Engineering, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: REF TA9 .M36 1993
Publication Date: 1993
This updated reference features 690 entries that cover the theory, instruments, equipment, and practice of all the major engineering disciplines--civil, design, electrical, industrial, mechanical, metallurgical, mining, nuclear, petroleum, power, and production engineering. It contains extensive new material in such fields as materials, computers, and the environment, and it describes important changes in a number of areas, including bioleaching, flexible manufacturing systems, hazardous waste, intelligent machines, mechanical alloying, numerical control, and solution mining. Much of the material has been taken from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 7th ed., with additional articles prepared for the present volume. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Encyclopedia of GIS by
Publication Date: 2008
Entries explain the key software, data sets, and processes used by geographers and computational scientists. Includes major overviews on topics, such as geoinformatics, spatial cognition, and location-based services. Shorter entries define specific terms and concepts, such as the global positioning system, digital elevation/terrain model, and remote sensing.
Encyclopedia of Computational Mechanics by
Publication Date: 2004
Over the past four decades computational methods in applied mechanics have developed into valuable tools that are widely used across both industry and academia. The applications are numerous ranging through aerospace and civil engineering structures, geotechnics, flow problems, automotive engineering, geo-environmental modeling, biomechanics, electromagnetism, metal forming and numerous other fields. Edited and written by a team of world-renowned authorities, The Encyclopedia of Computational Mechanics provides the most comprehensive collection of knowledge about the theory and practice of computational mechanics.
Encyclopedia of Environmetrics by
Publication Date: 2001
The Encyclopedia of Environmetrics covers the development and application of quantitative methods in the environmental sciences. It provides essential tools for understanding, predicting, and controlling the impacts of agents, both man-made and natural, which affect the environment. Basic and applied research in this area covers a broad range of topics. Primary among these are the quantitative sciences, such as statistics, probability and applied mathematics, chemometrics, and econometrics. Applications are also important, for example in, ecology and environmental biology, public health, atmospheric science, geology, engineering, risk management, and regulatory/governmental policy amongst others.
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences by
Publication Date: 2005
Written and edited by global authorities in the field and comprising approximately 200 substantial articles, the Encyclopedia provides detailed, expert coverage of the subject. Organized into 17 themed parts for the reader’s convenience, it offers scientifically rigorous information on all key aspects of the subject, from sub-catchment to the global scale.
Encyclopedia of Imaging Science and Technology by
Publication Date: 2002
This online reference work explores all aspects and fields of imaging science—including archaeology, life sciences, engineering, and analytical chemistry. In the past, this area has been approached on a field-by-field basis (medical imaging, analytical chemistry, nondestructive testing, structural analysis), but there has been no single reference work bringing all this information together.
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology, 3rd ed. by
Publication Date: 2001
This completely revised third edition, which is a university and professional level compendium of chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering, is refreshed with numerous articles about current research in these fields.
Encyclopedia of Vibration by
Publication Date: 2001
The Encyclopedia of Vibration is the first resource to cover this field so comprehensively. Approximately 190 articles cover everything from basic vibration theory to ultrasonics, from both fundamental and applied standpoints. Areas covered include vibrations in machines, buildings and other structures, vehicles, ships, and aircraft, as well as human response to vibration. Each article provides a concise and authoritative introduction to a topic. The Encyclopedia includes essential facts, background information, and techniques for modeling, analysis, design, testing, and control of vibration. It is highlighted with numerous illustrations and is structured to provide easy access to required information.