Research Guides: Diversity, Equity & Inclusion in Healthcare: Elder Health

Featured Books

Aging and Health for the US Elderly: A Health Primer for Ages 60 to 90 Years

Prescription for Inequality: Exploring the Social Determinants of Health of At-Risk Groups

The Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health: A Guide for Seniors and their Caregivers, 3e

Ebersole and Hess' Toward Healthy Aging: Human Needs & Nursing Response, 10e

Self-Neglect in Older Adults: A Global, Evidence-Based Resource for Nurses and Other Health Care Providers

The Praeger Handbook of Mental Health and the Aging Community

Social Isolation and Loneliness in Older Adults: Opportunities for the Health Care System

Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 8e

Advanced Practice Nursing in the Care of Older Adults, 2e

Addressing the Needs of an Aging Population Through Health Professions Education

Best Bets for Finding Books

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.

Some topics would include:

age discrimination
ageism

Google Books
Search book content for previews or free full-text. If you need more content, search WorldCat and expand your search to Libraries Worldwide, then Request It from Interlibrary Loan.

Websites

What is ageism, and how does it affect health?
Article from Medical News Today.

Administration for Community Living
ACL brings together the efforts and achievements of the Administration on Aging (AoA), the Administration on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AIDD), and the HHS Office on Disability to serve as the Federal agency responsible for increasing access to community supports, while focusing attention and resources on the unique needs of older Americans and people with disabilities across the lifespan.
Administration on Aging
Principal agency of the U.S Department of Health and Human Services designated to carry out the provisions of the Older Americans Act of 1965 (OAA), as amended (42 U.S.C.A. § 3001 et seq.). The OAA promotes the well-being of older individuals by providing services and programs designed to help them live independently in their homes and communities.
Age Discrimination in Healthcare
Office of Civil Rights, Diversity and Inclusion, U.S. Department of Health Resources & Services Administration
National Institute on Aging
NIA’s mission is to improve the health and well-being of older Americans through research, and specifically, to: support and conduct high-quality research on aging processes, age-related diseases, and special problems and needs of the aged; train and develop highly skilled research scientists from all population groups; develop and maintain state-of-the-art resources to accelerate research progress; and, disseminate information and communicate with the public and interested groups on health and research advances and on new directions for research.

American Geriatrics Society
Provides leadership to healthcare professionals, policy makers and the public by implementing and advocating for programs in patient care, research, professional and public education, and public policy.
American Society on Aging
Multidisciplinary array of professionals who are concerned with the physical, emotional, social, economic and spiritual aspects of aging. They range from practitioners, educators, administrators, policymakers, business people, researchers, students, and more.
APTA Geriatrics
An Academy of the American Physical Therapy Association formed to support those therapists, assistants, and students who work with an ageing population in roles of advocacy, direct patient care, consultation, supervision, and education.
Demographic Change and Healthy Ageing Unit
Part of the the Department for Social Determinants of Health within the World Health Organization, this unit supports the development of social and physical environments that are responsive to demographic change and foster healthy ageing; provides strategic leadership on these topics; develops evidence, norms and standards, including implementation tools; builds national capacities to address these issues; and fosters global advocacy.
Division 20: Adult Development and Aging of the American Psychological Association
Advances the study of psychological development and change throughout the adult years.
Is ageism creeping into your care of older adults?
American Medical Association

AgingStats.gov
Provides information on the aging population through periodic publications and other means.

Older Americans: Key Indicators of Well-Being by the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics
Publication Date: 2020
Provides data on the 40 key indicators selected by the Forum to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families. It is divided into six subject areas: population, economics, health status, health risks and behaviors, health care, and environment. Previous reports are also available.
Profile of Older Americans by the Administration for Community Living
Publication Date: November 2021
Annual summary of critical statistics related to the older population in the United States illustrating the shifting demographics of Americans age 65 and older. It includes key topic areas such as income, living arrangements, education, and health. Previous profiles are available back to 2005.

Professional Journals

Best Bets for Finding Articles

ProQuest Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 13 ProQuest health and medicine databases at once.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

Collections of Articles

Aging & Health
Archived series that includes substantive research, analysis and commentary that shaped health care policy with the goal of improving care for older adults.
Age-Friendly Health
Revamped initiative focusing on building health systems that provide high quality evidence-based health care to older adults.
End-of-Life Care
Covers typical end-of-life care services include palliative care, hospice care, family care giving, and other community-based services such as death doulas.
Elder Care
More than 600 articles on the subject, including topics such as palliative and hospice care; nursing homes; dementia and behavioral health care; long-term services and supports; and financial barriers.
Medicare
Clear and detailed analyses of Medicare Advantage, Part D out-of-pocket costs, drug price negotiation, and more.
Medicare And Medicaid Integration
Features analysis, proposals, and commentary that will inform policies on the state and federal levels to advance integrated care for those dually eligible for Medicare and Medicaid.

Ageing
Highlights a neglected area in the health sector and in social and economic-policy development. The six papers address issues related to mortality, morbidity and disability, wellbeing, and potential health-system responses.