Research Guides: Diversity, Equity & Inclusion in Healthcare: LGBTQIA+

Featured Books

Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: The Fenway Guide

Global LGBTQ Health: Research, Policy, Practice, and Pathways

Trans Reproductive and Sexual Health: Justice, Embodiment and Agency

LGBTQ Cultures: What Health Care Professionals Need to Know About Sexual and Gender Diversity, 3e

Prescription for Inequality: Exploring the Social Determinants of Health of At-Risk Groups

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Healthcare: A Clinical Guide to Preventive, Primary, and Specialist Care

Providing Affirming Care to Transgender and Gender-Diverse Youth

Bodies and Barriers: Queer Activists on Health

Urological Care for the Transgender Patient: A Comprehensive Guide

Fast Facts about LGBTQ+ Care for Nurses: How to Deliver Culturally Competent and Inclusive Care

Pocket Guide for Understanding LGBTQ Mental Health: Understanding the Spectrum of Gender and Sexuality

Supporting Queer Birth: A Book for Birth Professionals and Parents

LGBTQ Youth: Enhancing Care for Gender and Sexual Minorities

Cancer and the LGBT Community: Unique Perspectives from Risk to Survivorship

LGBTQ-Inclusive Hospice and Palliative Care

Erotically Queer: A Pink Therapy Guide for Practitioners

Gender Confirmation Surgery: A Guide for Trans and Non Binary People

Best Bets for Finding Books

WorldCat
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.

Some topics would include:

children & families
healthcare access
HIV, AIDS, and other STIs

insurance coverage
mental health
substance & alcohol use

Google Books
Search book content for previews or free full-text. If you need more content, search WorldCat and expand your search to Libraries Worldwide, then Request It from Interlibrary Loan.

Reference Books

The Transgender Encyclopedia by Brent L. Pickett
Publication Date: 2024

Encompasses genderqueer history, along with contemporary developments that highlight the diversity and struggles of gender-diverse people.
Wimmin, Wimps and Wallflowers by Philip Herbst
Publication Date: 2001

An Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Gender and Sexual Orientation Bias in the United States

Professional Journals

International Journal of Transgender Health

Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity

Culture, Health & Sexuality: An International Journal for Research, Intervention and Care

Journal of Gay & Lesbian Social Services

LGBTQ+ Family: An Interdisciplinary Journal

Best Bets for Finding Articles

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Intended for informational purposes only.
ProQuest Health & Medicine
Search 9 ProQuest health and medicine databases at once.
ProQuest Social Sciences
Search 16 ProQuest social science databases at once.
Google Scholar
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

Collections of Articles

LGBTQIA Medicine
Explore the latest about the health needs and care of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex, and Asexual/Allied communities, including HIV and STI prevention, gender-affirming care, health law and policy, and more.

Gender/Sexuality (Diversity, Equity, Inclusion)

Healthcare Equality Index

Healthcare Equality Index by Human Rights Campaign
Publication Date: 2024

In its 16th edition, the Healthcare Equality Index (HEI) is the national LGBTQ+ benchmarking tool that evaluates healthcare facilities' policies and practices related to the equity and inclusion of their LGBTQ+ patients, visitors and employees. The HEI 2024 evaluates nearly 2,400 healthcare facilities nationwide.

Topics in LGBTQIA+ Health

Documents

Injustice at Every Turn: A Report of the National Transgender Discrimination Survey by Jamie M. Grant, Lisa A. Mottet, Justin Tanis, Jack Harrison, Jody L. Herman, & Mara Keisling
Publication Date: 2011

Provides information on discrimination in every major area of life — including housing, employment, health and health care, education, public accommodation, family life, criminal justice and government identity documents.
LGBT+ People’s Health and Experiences Accessing Care by Lindsey Dawson, Brittni Frederiksen, Michelle Long, Usha Ranji, & Jennifer Kates
Publication Date: July 22, 2021

Results of a survey that included measures of sexual orientation and gender identity, as well as other demographic characteristics, and asked about a range of issues from general well-being to experiences engaging in the health system, HIV, reproductive health care, and the impact of COVID-19.
Medical Care of Trans and Gender Diverse Adults by the National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center
Publication Date: July 13, 2021

Protocols for clinicians in primary care settings to best serve their Transgender and Gender Diverse (TGD) patients.
Providing Inclusive Services and Care for LGBT People: A Guide for Health Care Staff by the National LGBT Health Education Center
Publication Date: February 17, 2016

Developed to help all members of the health care team provide an inclusive and affirmative environment for all clients, with a focus on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people.
Standards of Care for the Health of Transgender and Gender Diverse People, Version 8 by Coleman, E., Radix, A. E., Bouman, W.P., Brown, G.R., de Vries, A. L. C., Deutsch, M. B., Ettner, R., Fraser, L., Goodman, M., Green, J., Hancock, A. B., Johnson, T. W., Karasic, D. H., Knudson, G. A., Leibowitz, S. F., Meyer-Bahlburg, H. F.L., Monstrey, S. J., Motmans, J., Nahata, L., ... Arcelus, J.
Publication Date: 2022

From the World Professional Association for Transgender Health, these SOC provide clinical guidance for health professionals to assist transsexual, transgender, and gender nonconforming people with safe and effective pathways to achieving lasting personal comfort with their gendered selves, in order to maximize their overall health, psychological well-being, and self-fulfillment.
Ten Strategies for Creating Inclusive Health Care Environments for LGBTQIA+ People by the National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center
Publication Date: May 4, 2021

Presents ten strategies every health care organization can do to become more affirming and welcoming for LGBTQIA+ patients and staff and sets a foundation for comprehensive organizational change.
“You Don’t Want Second Best”: Anti-LGBT Discrimination in US Health Care by Human Rights Watch
Publication Date: July 23, 2018

Documents some of the barriers that LGBT people face in obtaining health care, and the toll that sweeping moral or religious exemptions can take on the health and well-being of those who are turned away by providers.

General Sites

Healthcare and the LGBT Community
Good overview on Wikipedia that includes issues affecting the different groups within the greater LGBT community, causes of LGBT health disparities, LGBT health and social support networks, and healthcare education.

Government Sites

Improving Health Care Quality for LGBTQ People
This 1-hour course is designed to provide education for health care providers and staff who are responsible for collecting Medicare patient data from LGBTQ persons.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
LGBT
Objective from Health People 2030
LGBTQI+ Health & Well-being
Featured topic page from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Sexual & Gender Minority Research Office
The office within the National Institutes of Health that coordinates sexual and gender minority (SGM)–related research and activities by working directly with the NIH Institutes, Centers, and Offices.
VHA LGBTQ+ Health Program
Patient care services from the Department of Veterans Affairs.

Professional Organizations

Advisory Committee on LGBTQ Issues
Member group of the American Medical Association that highlights LGBTQ news and topics related to patients and physicians.
Creating an LGBTQ-friendly Practice
From the American Medical Association, find recommended standards of practice with lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender patients and additional resources to assist making your practice LGBTQ-friendly.
Healthcare Professionals
Professional resources for healthcare professionals from the Human Rights Campaign Foundation.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning or Queer (LGBTQ) Health Toolkit
From the American Academy of Family Physicians.
LGBTQ Health Caucus
An association of public health professionals committed to furthering LGBT issues within the American Public Health Association and the field of public health at large.
World Professional Association for Transgender Health
Professional, supporting, and student members engage in clinical and academic research to develop evidence-based medicine and strive to promote a high quality of care for transsexual, transgender, and gender-nonconforming individuals internationally.

Research Centers & Institutes

The Audre Lorde Project
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Two Spirit, Trans and Gender Non Conforming People of Color center for community organizing, focusing on the New York City area that works for community wellness and progressive social and economic justice.
Center for Black Equity
Multinational LGBTQ+ network dedicated to improving health and wellness opportunities, economic empowerment, and equal rights while promoting individual and collective work, responsibility, and self-determination.
Center of Excellence for Transgender Health
Advances health equity for trans and gender non-binary communities.
The Fenway Institute
Optimizes health and well-being for sexual and gender minorities (SGM) and those affected by HIV.
National Coalition for LGBTQ Health
Committed to improving the health and well-being of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals through federal and local advocacy, education, and research.
National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center
A program of the Fenway Institute that provides educational programs, resources, and consultation to health care organizations with the goal of optimizing quality, cost-effective health care for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, asexual, and all sexual and gender minority (LGBTQIA+) people.

Research Centers & Institutes

LGBTQIA+ Aging Project
Works toward equity, inclusion, and community for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, and asexual older adults, ensuring that they can age with the dignity and respect they deserve.
National Resource Center on LGBT Aging
Technical assistance resource center focused on improving the quality of services and supports offered to lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender older adults, their families and caregivers.

Professional Organizations

Gender and Sexuality Committee
Part of the American Medical Student Association, this committee works to establish AMSA as a leader on issues affecting the health of women, intersex people and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) communities and support initiatives to improve policy at the institutional, local, state, and federal levels.
GLMA
National organization committed to ensuring health equity for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ+) communities and equality for LGBTQ+ health professionals in their work and learning environments.
GLAM Nursing
Facilitates the development and implementation of specific actions to advance LGBTQ health issues within nursing practice, research, education and organizational policy.
NALGAP: The Association of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Addiction Professionals and Their Allies
Dedicated to the prevention and treatment of alcoholism, substance use, and other addictions in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer communities.
National LGBT Cancer Network
Works to improve the lives of LGBT cancer survivors through education, training, and advocacy.

Professional Organizations

Section on LGBT Health and Wellness
From the American Academy of Pediatrics, the mission of this section is to support the health and wellness of LGBT children and their families; LGBT parents and their children; children with variations in gender presentation and their families; and LGBT pediatricians and trainees.

Research Centers & Institutes

Hetrick-Martin Institute for LGBTQIA+ Youth
HMI has been serving LGBTQIA+ youth since 1979, the longest history of any such organization in the US. They share their experience through program models, trainings, resources, and advocacy work.

Government Sites

HIV.gov
Objectives are to expand the visibility of timely and relevant federal HIV policies, programs, and resources to the American public, and to increase knowledge about HIV and access to HIV services for people with or experiencing risk for HIV.
HIV and Transgender People
The latest data on HIV among transgender people from the CDC.

Professional Organizations

HIV Medicine Association
Community of health care professionals that advance a comprehensive and humane response to the HIV pandemic, informed by science and social justice.

Research Centers & Institutes

amfAR, The Foundation for AIDS Research
One of the world’s leading nonprofit organizations dedicated to the support of AIDS research, HIV prevention, treatment education, and advocacy.
Center of AIDS Prevention Studies - UCSF School of Medicine
Mission is to end the HIV epidemic and associated health and social disparities by conducting high-impact HIV prevention science and building capacity among researchers and communities to effectively address HIV.
The Fenway Institute
Optimizes health and well-being for sexual and gender minorities (SGM) and those affected by HIV.
Health & HIV
National Center for Transgender Equality
The Stonewall Project
State-certified drug and alcohol treatment program providing harm reduction-based counseling that integrates substance use, mental health and HIV prevention and education.

Government Sites

Behavioral Health Equity: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and Intersex (LGBTQI+)
Resources on the LGBTQI+ population include national survey reports, agency and federal initiatives, and related behavioral health resources.

Professional Organizations

The Association of LGBTQ+ Psychiatrists
Community of psychiatrists that educates and advocates on LGBTQ+ mental health issues.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health
Information and resources regarding LGBT health disparities and advocacy from the Office on Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity of the American Psychological Association.
LGBTQI
National Alliance on Mental Illness
Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity
Public interest directorate from the American Psychological Association.
Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity
Topic page from the American Psychological Association.

Websites

LGBTQ+ Communities and Mental Health
Mental Health America
The Stonewall Project
State-certified drug and alcohol treatment program providing harm reduction-based counseling that integrates substance use, mental health and HIV prevention and education.
The Trevor Project
Mission is to end suicide among lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and questioning young people.

Documents

A Provider's Introduction to Substance Abuse Treatment for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Individuals by the Center for Substance Abuse Treatment of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
This manual informs clinicians and administrators about substance use disorder treatment approaches that are sensitive to patients among the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) population. It covers cultural, clinical, health, administrative, and legal issues as well as alliance building.

Government Sites

Substance Use and SUDs in LGBTQ* Populations
Research topic from the National Institute on Drug Abuse.

Websites

The Stonewall Project
State-certified drug and alcohol treatment program providing harm reduction-based counseling that integrates substance use, mental health and HIV prevention and education.

Documents

Smoking Out a Deadly Threat: Tobacco Use in the LGBT Community by the American Lung Association
Publication Date: 2010

Part of the Disparities in Lung Health Series, this report examines persistantly high tobacco use in the LGBT community.