Research Guides: Diversity, Equity & Inclusion in Healthcare: Disabilities

Featured Books

Aging and Disability: Beyond Stereotypes to Inclusion: Proceedings of a Workshop

Disability As Diversity: A Guidebook for Inclusion in Medicine, Nursing, and the Health Professions

Disability As Diversity: A Case Studies Companion Guide

Prescription for Inequality: Exploring the Social Determinants of Health of At-Risk Groups

Strengthening the Workforce to Support Community Living and Participation for Older Adults and Individuals with Disabilities: Proceedings of a Workshop

Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics, 2e

A Practical Approach to Special Care in Dentistry

Best Bets for Finding Books

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.

Some topics would include:

chronic conditions
children & families
healthcare access

mental health
substance & alcohol use

Google Books
Search book content for previews or free full-text. If you need more content, search WorldCat and expand your search to Libraries Worldwide, then Request It from Interlibrary Loan.

NARIC: National Rehabilitation Information Center
Collection of articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research on issues including technology, health and function, independent living, and capacity building.
REHABDATA
Leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation spanning 1956 to the present. Covers physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.

Professional Journals

Scandinavian Journal of Disability Research

Disability and Rehabilitation: Assistive Technology

American Journal on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

British Journal of Learning Disabilities

Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

Journal of Intellectual & Developmental Disability

Journal of Intellectual Disability Research

Best Bets for Finding Articles

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Intended for informational purposes only.
ProQuest Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 13 ProQuest health and medicine databases at once.
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Search 16 ProQuest social science databases at once.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

Collections of Articles

Disability and Health
Theme issue published in October 2022 intended to invigorate public discussion of disability and health and shape the agenda for research and policy in the years ahead.

Websites

ADA.gov
Resources, laws, and regulations on the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Disabilities
Health topic from MedlinePlus
Disability
From the U.S. Census Bureau, includes news, reports, briefs, research papers, and data on disability.
Disability and Health
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, includes information on disability inclusion, healthy living, emergency preparedness, data and statistics.
Disability Rights Office
Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau, Federal Communications Commission. Addresses disability-related matters, including access to telecommunications services and equipment; hearing aid compatibility; access to advanced communications services and equipment; access to Internet browsers built into mobile phones; telecommunications relay services; the National Deaf-Blind Equipment Distribution Program; accessible video programming and video programming apparatus (access to televised emergency information, closed captioning on television and television programs on the Internet, audio description, and accessible user interfaces, text menus, and program guides).
Disability Rights Section
Civil Rights Division, The United States Department of Justice
National Council on Disability
An independent federal agency charged with advising the President, Congress, and other federal agencies regarding policies, programs, practices, and procedures that affect people with disabilities.
People With Disabilities
Healthy People 2030
U.S. Access Board
Develops and maintains design criteria for the built environment, transit vehicles, information and communication technology, and medical diagnostic equipment under the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA) and other laws.

American Association of People with Disabilities
Organizes the disability community to be a powerful force for change – politically, socially, and economically.
American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
Promotes progressive policies, sound research, effective practices, and universal human rights for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities.
American Neurological Association
Devoted to advancing the goals of academic neurology; to training and educating neurologists and other physicians in the neurologic sciences; and to expanding both our understanding of diseases of the nervous system and our ability to treat them.
Disability Section of the American Public Health Association
Involved with policies and actions focusing on the equalization of opportunities for people with disabilities, including the promotion of equity in health care and health outcomes, and social change to promote socioeconomic integration.
National Center for Learning Disabilities
Works to ensure that the nation's 15 million children, adolescents and adults with learning disabilities have every opportunity to succeed in school, work and life.
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
Seeks fundamental knowledge about the brain and nervous system and to use that knowledge to reduce the burden of neurological disease.
Neuro-Developmental Treatment Association
Not-for-profit association of therapists, consumers, and other professionals dedicated to the use and advancement of the Neuro-Developmental Treatment (NDT) approach to the multi-disciplinary treatment of neuromuscular dysfunction.
People with Disabilities
National Alliance on Mental Illness

Long-Term Care Services
Information from the Pennsylvania Department of Human Services on a wide range of assistive services provided to an individual based on their needs, from assistance around the home to sophisticated medical care provided in a nursing facility.
Office of Developmental Programs
From the Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare, this office provides individuals with mental retardation, autism, and their families the services and supports they need and the opportunity to make real choices about living, working and options for social activities to enable them to live in and participate fully in the life of their communities.