Research Guides: Diversity, Equity & Inclusion in Healthcare: Hispanic Health

Topics in Hispanic Health

Documents

2014 National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report Chartbook for Hispanic Health Care by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Publication Date: October 2015

Includes a summary of trends across measures of Hispanic health care from the QDR and figures illustrating select measures of Hispanic health care.
Achieving Racial and Ethnic Equity in U.S. Health Care: A Scorecard of State Performance by David C. Radley, Jesse C. Baumgartner, Sara R. Collins, Laurie Zephyrin, & Eric C. Schneider
Publication Date: November 2021

Evaluates health equity across race and ethnicity, both within and between states, to illuminate how state health systems perform for Black, white, Latinx/ Hispanic, AIAN, and Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) populations.
Demographic Characteristics and Data Brief Health Behaviors among a Diverse Group of Adult Hispanic/Latino Males (Ages 18 to 64 years) in the United States by Shondelle M. Wilson-Frederick, Gloria Gonzalez, Chazeman S. Jackson, Lacreisha N. Ejike-King, & Rashida R. Dorsey
Publication Date: May 29, 2015

Data brief from the Office of Minority Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Hispanics and the Future of America by Marta Tienda (Editor); Faith Mitchell (Editor); National Research Council (U.S.), Panel on Hispanics in the United States Staff (Contribution by); National Research Council (U.S.), Committee on Population Staff (Contribution by); Population Committee; Transforming Our Common Destiny Committee; Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education Staff
Publication Date: 2006

Presents details of the complex story of a population that varies in many dimensions, including national origin, immigration status, and generation.
Migracion y Salud / Migration and Health by the National Population Council of Mexico & the Health Initiative of the Americas
Publication Date: 2020

Published annually, the objective of these publications is to make current issues related to the health of the migrant population from the Mexico-United States corridor accessible to officials, academia, civil association, and the general public.
Social Determinants of Health Among the Rural Hispanic Population by Janice C. Probst & Fozia Ajmal
Publication Date: July 2019

Policy brief from the Rural & Minority Health Research Center that documents current disparities within the rural Hispanic population.

Government Sites

MedlinePlus en Español
MedlinePlus Español is the Spanish language version of the MedlinePlus database, a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The mission of MedlinePlus is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish.
MedlinePlus es un servicio informativo en línea de salud para pacientes, familiares y amigos. Es producida por la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina de Estados Unidos (NLM, por sus siglas en inglés), la biblioteca médica más grande del mundo y parte de los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud de EE. UU. (NIH).
Profile: Hispanic/Latino Americans
Minority population profile from the Office of Minority Health.
U.S.-Mexico Border Health Commission
Part of the Office of Global Affairs within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Commission provides international leadership to improve health and quality of life along the U.S.-México border.

NGOs & Think Tanks

UnidosUS
The largest Latino civil rights organization in the United States.

Professional Organizations

Latino Caucus for Public Health
Caucus of the American Public Health Association that plays a pivotal role in policy and health issues that impact Latinos throughout the Americas.

Research Centers & Institutes

Regional Center for Border Health
Commited to improving the quality of life of the residents along the U.S.-Mexico border by increasing accessibility to quality training and affordable healthcare.

Documents

2020 Profile of Hispanic Americans Age 65 and Over by the Administration for Community Living
Publication Date: 2020

Each year, the ACL compiles The Profile of Older Americans, a summary of critical statistics related to the older population in the United States. Relying primarily on data offered by the U.S. Census Bureau, the Profile illustrates the shifting demographics of Americans age 65 and older. It includes key topic areas such as education, marital status, and income. This supplement to the Profile presents some of those same demographics as they pertain to the Hispanic American population age 65 and older.
Latinos & Alzheimer's Disease: New Numbers Behind the Crisis by Shinyu Wu, William A. Vega, Jason Resendez, & Haomiao Jin
Publication Date: 2016

A projection of the costs for U.S. Latinos living with Alzheimer's Disease through 2060.

Professional Organizations

National Hispanic Council on Aging
The National Hispanic Council on Aging (NHCOA) is the nation's premier constituency-based organization dedicated to improving the quality of life for the Hispanic/Latino elderly, their families, and their communities…NHCOA focuses on the following program priorities: health promotion and disease prevention, financial security and civic engagement, policy, leadership development, education and housing. Its policy priorities include addressing health disparities, promoting economic security, ensuring availability of affordable and elder accessible housing, and building stronger and more cohesive communities through provision of technical support and financial assistance to community-based organizations serving Hispanic older adults.

Professional Organizations

National Hispanic Medical Association
Dedicated to empowering Hispanic physicians to be leaders who will help eliminate health disparities and improve the health of Hispanics.

Documents

Historic Gains in Health Coverage for Hispanic Children in the Affordable Care Act’s First Year by Sonya Schwartz, Alisa Chester, Steven Lopez, & Samantha Vargas Poppe
Publication Date: January 2016

50-state report from Georgetown University Center for Children and Families and National Council of La Raza finds health coverage gap narrowing for Hispanic children but inequities remain.
Living in an Immigrant Family in America: How Fear and Toxic Stress are Affecting Daily Life, Well-Being, & Health by Samantha Artiga & Petry Ubri
Publication Date: December 2017

Issue brief from The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation.
Toward A More Equitable Future The Trends and Challenges Facing America’s Latino Children by the National Council of La Raza and the Population Reference Bureau
Publication Date: September 29, 2016

Overview of national and state-level trends in the characteristics and well-being of Hispanic children.

Documents

Cancer Facts & Figures for Hispanic and Latino People by the American Cancer Society
Publication Date: 2006-date

Provides updated cancer information about Hispanic/Latino people, including statistics on cancer occurrence and risk factors, as well as information about prevention, early detection, and treatment.

Documents

Bolstering Latinx Gay and Bisexual Men To Promote Health and Reduce HIV Transmission by Jeffrey S. Crowley & Sean Bland
Publication Date: March 2019

Explores the health and social factors that contribute to HIV risks among Latinx gay and bisexual men.

See the following guide:

Health Literacy: Speak Plain Language
by Georgia Laudenslager Last Updated Nov 10, 2025 183 views this year

Working with Latino/a and Hispanic Patients
Prepared by Lisa Fortuna, M.D., this site accompanies the video above, and includes a downloadable guide.

Documents

Mental Health Disparities among Hispanic and Latino Populations by the National Hispanic and Latino Mental Health Technology Transfer Cdenter Network
Publication Date: June 2020

This booklet emphasizes the social determinants of health (SDOH), as well as non-medical health-related social needs (HRSN) and their impact on mental health outcomes. It offers recommendations for mental health providers, researchers, and consumers to reduce disparities among Latino communities, including increasing awareness and the importance of being trained in culturally grounded evidence-based interventions.
Mental Health Services for Latino Youth Bridging Culture and Evidence by Patricia Foxen
Publication Date: December 2016

Describes the mental health landscape for Latino youth, including risk factors, existing treatments, and the ongoing debate about strategies for treating Latino youth and how culturally appropriate programs should be evaluated.

Professional Organizations

Hispanic/Latinx
National Alliance on Mental Illness

2020 National Survey On Drug Use And Health: Hispanics, Latino Or Spanish Origin Or Descent by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Publication Date: July 2022

Slides on Hispanics, Latino or Spanish Origin or Descent based on the graphics, tables, and figures from the 2020 NSDUH Annual Report.
Alcohol and the Hispanic Community by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
Publication Date: May 2021

Information and data including how much do Hispanics drink, what factors predict drinking behavior in the Hispanic community, drinking trends by country of national origin, consequences of heavy drinking, and statistics on Hispanics seeking treatment for alcohol problems.
The Opioid Crisis and the Hispanic/Latino Population: An Urgent Issue by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Publication Date: July 2020

This issue brief presents recent data on prevalence of opioid misuse & death rates in the Hispanic/Latino population; contextual factors & challenges to prevention & treatment; innovative outreach & engagement strategies to connect people to evidence-based treatment; and the importance of community voice.

Documents

Gender Violence Among Latinas: Key Concepts and Cultural Considerations by the National Hispanic and Latino MHTTC
Publication Date: January 23, 2020

Explains the impact of gender and domestic violence among Hispanic and Latinas, describes the difference between domestic violence and intimate partner violence, and how cultural values like marianismo and machismo embedded in Hispanic and Latino populations could exacerbate differences in the role between males and females.

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion in Healthcare: Hispanic Health

Featured Books

Best Bets for Finding Books

Videos

Professional Journals

Best Bets for Finding Articles

Topics in Hispanic Health

Documents

Government Sites

NGOs & Think Tanks

Professional Organizations

Research Centers & Institutes

Documents

Professional Organizations

Professional Organizations

Documents

Documents

Documents

See the following guide:

Documents

Professional Organizations

Documents