Research Guides: Diversity, Equity & Inclusion in Healthcare: Black Health

Featured Books

Autistic and Black: Our Experiences of Growth, Progress, and Empowerment

Medical Apartheid: The Dark History of Medical Experimentation on Black Americans from Colonial Times to the Present

Prescription for Inequality: Exploring the Social Determinants of Health of At-Risk Groups

Praeger Handbook of Black American Health: Policies and Issues Behind Disparities in Health, 2e

Black Women's Reproductive Health and Sexuality: A Holistic Public Health Approach

Black Women and Public Health: Strategies to Name, Locate, and Change Systems of Power

Birthing Justice: Black Women, Pregnancy, and Childbirth, 2e

My Black Motherhood: Mental Health, Stigma, Racism and the System

Racialized Health, COVID-19, and Religious Responses: Black Atlantic Contexts and Perspectives

The Emergency: A Year of Healing and Heartbreak in a Chicago ER

Examining Tuskegee: The Infamous Syphilis Study and Its Legacy

The Racial Divide in American Medicine: Black Physicians and the Struggle for Justice in Health Care

The African American Child: Development and Challenges

Black Fathers in Contemporary American Society

Intimate Partner Violence: An Evidence-Based Approach

Taylor & Kelly's Dermatology for Skin of Color, 2e

To Raise up the Man Farthest Down: Tuskegee University's Advancements in Human Health, 1881-1987

Pregnant While Black: Advancing Justice for Maternal Health in America

Mental Health, Racism, and Contemporary Challenges of Being Black in America

Unequal Health: Anti-Black Racism and the Threat to America's Health

Best Bets for Finding Books

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search for books, videos, and more located in Madigan Library and libraries worldwide. Search using keywords/phrases such as african american health, black health, minority health, and racial health.

Some topics would include:

chronic conditions
children & families
healthcare access
HIV infection & hepatitis

maternal health
mental health
Sickle Cell Disease (SCD)
substance & alcohol use

Google Books
Search book content for previews or free full-text. If you need more content, search WorldCat and expand your search to Libraries Worldwide, then Request It from Interlibrary Loan.

Videos

Discovered Truth: A Health Care Journey (26:09)
Discusses black barriers to healthcare due to racism, distrust, and slavery and how that effects racial health disparities now.
Health Disparities in the Black Community: Past & Present (12:32)
You're probably aware that the United States healthcare system is letting down many Black Americans. Today, Danielle looks at the historic reasons for distrust of medical establishment in the Black community as well as why these huge health disparities still exist.
Medical Racism from 1619 to the Present: History Matters (58:40)
Lack of trust in the US healthcare system among communities of color is inextricably linked to the history of systemic racism in this country. With fewer than half of Black American adults indicating that they will definitely or probably get vaccinated against COVID-19, understanding the roots of this hesitancy—which dates back centuries—is critical to battling the disease. Speakers on this panel examine the roots in slavery of contemporary African American mistrust of the healthcare system, the lack of trust in medical providers fostered by experiences of everyday racism, and the African American community’s long dependence, born of necessity, on care from within the community.

Professional Journals

Cultural Diversity & Ethnic Minority Psychology

Journal of Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities

Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health

Journal of Ethnic & Cultural Diversity in Social Work

Journal of Health Disparities Research and Practice

Journal of the National Black Nurses Association

Best Bets for Finding Articles

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Intended for informational purposes only.
ProQuest Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 13 ProQuest health and medicine databases at once.
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Search 16 ProQuest social science databases at once.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

Collections of Articles

Black/African American Health Disparities
This collection highlights research on the structural barriers to health equity among Black and African Americans.

Racism and Health: A Reading List
This nonexhaustive collection of select research articles and books, both seminal and new, describes how racism affects health and well-being and offers a starting place for further exploration.

Topics in Black Health

Documents

Achieving Racial and Ethnic Equity in U.S. Health Care: A Scorecard of State Performance by David C. Radley, Jesse C. Baumgartner, Sara R. Collins, Laurie Zephyrin, & Eric C. Schneider
Publication Date: November 2021
Evaluates health equity across race and ethnicity, both within and between states, to illuminate how state health systems perform for Black, white, Latinx/ Hispanic, AIAN, and Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) populations.
Social Determinants of Health among the Rural African American Population by Janice C. Probst & Fozia Ajmal
Publication Date: July 2019
Policy brief from the Rural & Minority Health Research Center that compares the distribution of social determinants among African American and White rural residents using information from the 2016 U.S. Census.
2015 National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report Chartbook on Health Care for Blacks by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Publication Date: February 2016
Includes a summary of trends across measures of Black health care from the QDR and figures illustrating select measures of Black health care.

Government Sites

African American Health
Vital Signs, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Black and African American Health
MedlinePlus
Congressional Black Caucus
Committed to using the full Constitutional power, statutory authority, and financial resources of the federal government to ensure that African Americans and other marginalized communities in the United States have the opportunity to achieve the American Dream.
Health of Black or African American non-Hispanic Population
National Center for Health Statistics
Profile: Black/African Americans
Minority population profile from the Office of Minority Health

NGOs & Think Tanks

The African American Policy Forum
Innovative think tank that connects academics, activists and policy-makers to promote efforts to dismantle structural inequality.

Professional Organizations

Black Health: National Black Leadership Commission on Health
Champions the promotion of health and prevention of diseases to reduce disparities and achieve equity within the black community.
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People
Home of grassroots activism for civil rights and social justice.

Research Centers & Institutes

The Center for Black Health & Equity
Mission is to facilitate programs and services that promote health equity for people of African descent.
National Center for Bioethics in Research and Health Care
The nation's first bioethics center devoted to engaging the sciences, humanities, law and religious faiths in the exploration of the core moral issues which underlie research and medical treatment of African Americans and other underserved people.

Websites

Health Disparities Among African-Americans
Pfizer

Documents

2020 Profile of African Americans Age 65 and Older by the Administratioin for Community Living
Publication Date: 2020
Each year, the ACL compiles The Profile of Older Americans, a summary of critical statistics related to the older population in the United States. Relying primarily on data offered by the U.S. Census Bureau, the Profile illustrates the shifting demographics of Americans age 65 and older. It includes key topic areas such as education, marital status, and income. This supplement to the Profile presents some of those same demographics as they pertain to the African American population age 65 and older.

Professional Organizations

Association of Black Cardiologists
Promotes the prevention and treatment of cardiovascular disease, including stroke, in Blacks and other minorities and to achieve health equity for all through the elimination of disparities.
Association of Black Women Physicians
Forum to support the success of African-American women in medicine, science, and public health.
Black Caucus of Health Workers
Caucus of the American Public Health Association that strives for the elimination of disparities and the reduction of gaps in health and health outcomes by improving the quality of life of people of African descent through advocacy, knowledge, practice and research.
Black Healthcare & Medical Association
Global, independent, non-profit professional membership organization for Blacks and African-Americans in the healthcare and life sciences industries.
National Black Deaf Advocates
Promotes the leadership development, economic and educational opportunities, social equality, and to safeguard the general health and welfare of Black deaf and hard of hearing people.
National Black Nurses Association
Provides a forum for collective action by African American nurses to represent and provide a forum for black nurses to advocate for and implement strategies to ensure access to the highest quality of healthcare for persons of color.
National Dental Hygentists’ Association
Founded by African American Dental Hygienists' to address the special problems faced by the minority hygienist in the profession as well as unite the limited number of minority dental hygiene practitioners in the United States.
National Dentist Association
Promotes oral health equity among people of color by harnessing the collective power of its members, advocating for the needs of and mentoring dental students of color, and raising the profile of the profession in our communities.
National Medical Association
The largest and oldest national organization representing African American physicians and their patients in the United States. Is committed to improving the quality of health among minorities and disadvantaged people through its membership, professional development, community health education, advocacy, research and partnerships with federal and private agencies.
Society of Black Academic Surgeons
Mission is to improve health, advance science, and foster careers of African American and
other underrepresented minority surgeons.

Documents

IndexUS: What Healthy Black Women Can Teach Us About Health, 3e by the Black Women's Health Imperative
Publication Date: 2019
Visually represents data findings, provides an important narrative, shares useful tips, and explores a variety of topics related to Black women's health.

Professional Organizations

National Association of Black Social Workers
Advocates and addresses important social issues that impact the health and welfare of the Black community.

Documents

Cancer Facts & Figures for African American/Black People by the American Cancer Society
Publication Date: 2005-date
Provides the most recent data on cancer risk factors and screening in the Black population. Historical reports are available back to 2005.
Cancer Incidence Among African American People, United States—2007–2016 by the Division of Cancer Prevention and Control
Publication Date: February 2020
U.S. Cancer Statistics Data Brief, No. 15

Government Sites

African American People and Cancer
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Documents

HIV Among African Americans by Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Publication Date: 2019
CDC Fact Sheet

Government Sites

HIV and African American People
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
HIV and Black/African American People in the U.S.
Fact Sheet from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Research Centers & Institutes

Black AIDS Institute
Dedicated to ending the HIV/AIDS epidemic in the Black community.

Government Sites

Black/African American
Office of Behavioral Health Equity

Professional Organizations

Association of Black Psychologists
Founded to address the serious problems facing Black Psychologists and the larger Black community.
Black/African American
National Alliance on Mental Illness
Working with African American/Black Patients
American Psychiatric Association

Research Centers & Institutes

Satcher Health Leadership Institute
Mission is to create systemic change at the intersection of policy and equity by focusing on three priority areas: the political determinants of health, health system transformation, and mental and behavioral health.

Documents

Addressing Sickle Cell Disease: A Strategic Plan and Blueprint for Action by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; Health and Medicine Division; Board on Population Health and Public Health Practice; Committee on Addressing Sickle Cell Disease: A Strategic Plan and Blueprint for Action; Rose-Marie Martinez (Editor); Henrietta Awo Osei-Anto (Editor); Marie McCormick (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021
Examines the epidemiology, health outcomes, genetic implications, and societal factors associated with SCD and sickle cell trait (SCT). It explores the current guidelines and best practices for the care of patients with SCD and recommends priorities for programs, policies, and research. It also discusses limitations and opportunities for developing national SCD patient registries and surveillance systems, barriers in the healthcare sector associated with SCD and SCT, and the role of patient advocacy and community engagement groups.

Governement Sites

Fact Sheets on Sickle Cell Disease
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, this page contains individual facts sheets containing basic information, how to live well with SCD, SC traits, how to support students with SCD, state data, and best practices.
Sickle Cell Disease
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

Professional Organizations

Research Centers & Institutes

Foundation for Sickle Cell Disease Research
First U.S. outpatient center exclusively dedicated to the treatment of and innovative research for SCD.

Documents

2020 National Survey on Drug Use and Health: African Americans by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Publication Date: July 2022
Slides on African Americans based on the graphics, tables, and figures from the 2020 NSDUH Annual Report.
The Opioid Crisis and the Black/African American Population: An Urgent Issue by the Office of Behavioral Health Equity, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Publication Date: 2020
Provides recent data on prevalence of opioid misuse and opioid overdose death rates in the Black/African American population in the U.S.; discusses contextual factors that impact the opioid epidemic in these communities, including challenges to accessing early intervention and treatment; highlights innovative outreach and engagement strategies that have the potential to connect individuals with evidence-based prevention, treatment, and recovery and; emphasizes the importance of ongoing community voice and leadership in the development and implementation of solutions to this public health crisis.

Documents

Black Mamas Matter: Advancing the Human Right to Safe and Respectful Maternal Health Care by the Black Mamas Matter Alliance and the Center for Reproductive Rights
Publication Date: May 8, 2018
This toolkit provides a comprehensive overview of information and resources on Black maternal health and identifies action policymakers can take to address maternal health within the human rights and reproductive justice frameworks.

Government Sites

Black Maternal Health Caucus
Organized around the goals of elevating the Black maternal health crisis within the United States Congress and advancing policy solutions to improve maternal health outcomes and end disparities.

Professional Organizations

National Council of Negro Women
Leading, advocating and empowering women of African descent, their families and communities.
Women of Color Network
Works in and beyond the fields of domestic violence and sexual assault to address a broad range of violence affecting communities of color such as human trafficking, police brutality and over-incarceration.