PHO150 Digital Photography: Dorothea Lange

Dorothea Lange's depression-era photographs became mythic symbols in their time and are exhibited worldwide as standards of classic photography. In this first biography of Lange, Milton Meltzer documents her development as an artist and provides a moving portrayal of a life burdened with illness and the conflicting demands of family and profession.

In this sweeping account, renowned historian Linda Gordon charts Lange's journey from polio-ridden child to wife and mother, to San Francisco portrait photographer, to chronicler of the Great Depression and World War II. She explores Lange's growing radicalization as she embraced the democratic power of the camera, and she examines Lange's entire body of work, reproducing more than one hundred images, many of them previously unseen and some of them formerly suppressed.

Essays examine the life and work of the photographer who captured American history during the 1930s, 1940s, and 1950s.

A biography of Dorothea Lange, whose photographs of migrant workers and rural poverty helped bring about important social reforms.

Presenting 119 images originally censored by the U.S. Army, the majority of which have never been published, Impounded evokes the horror of a community uprooted in the early 1940s and the stark reality of the internment camps.

The Getty Museum holds nearly one hundred of the artist's pictures, about fifty of which are discussed. These include the iconic images of homeless farm families as well as lesser-known Southwestern views, personal photographs Lange made at home in the 1950s, and late compositions from an extensive trip to Asia and the Middle East

Reprinted for the first time, this is the most comprehensive collection of the photographer's work ever published. It includes portraits from her early years as a fashionable studio photographer as well as classic images that established her as the preeminent documentary artist of her time.

Featuring 250 photographs by over 150 different artists, this book surveys fine art photography in American throughout the 20th century.

American photography from the turn of the century through the mid-1960s offers one of the richest and most coherent traditions in the history of the medium. This book explores that tradition in depth through superb reproductions of 183 photographs from the outstanding collection of The Museum of Modern Art." Major figures, such as Paul Strand, Edward Weston, Walker Evans, Dorothea Lange, Harry Callahan, and Robert Frank, are each represented by six or more photographs. Dozens of other distinguished photographers are included as well, and many remarkable but unfamiliar pictures join the landmark works.

A pathbreaking book, American Photography and the American Dream examines the most important photographers and developments in the documentary genre during this century. It encompasses the reform-era images of Francis Benjamin Johnston and Lewis Hine; the work of Farm Security Administration (FSA) photographers like Walker Evans and Dorothea Lange during both the 1930s and 1940s after the FSA photography unit broke up; the American-Way-of-Life pictures published by Life, Look, and the United States Information Agency during the 1940s and 1950s; the iconoclastic images of William Klein, Diane Arbus, and Robert Frank; and the work of four photographers of the 1970s and 1980s: Bill Owens, Chauncey Hare, Susan Meiselas, and Michael Williamson. These images, he shows, are not merely pictures on museum walls but revelations that can help us understand how we as Americans have seen ourselves, one another, and the world around us.

American history is punctuated by defining moments-some proud, some tragic, some beautiful. Photography has made it possible for these moments to be captured and shared with the public. As the craft has evolved from unwieldy glass negatives to digital imagery, the photographs themselves have changed the way we see the world. From Mathew Brady's startling Civil War photographs to NASA's stunning images of the universe, this book highlights twelve photographers whose work has truly changed the nation.

From well-known luminaries of the medium such as Arbus, Goldin, Lange, Cunningham, Cindy Sherman and Annie Leibovitz, to far less known figures, this book celebrates the role women have had in shaping photography's vision.

Novices and experts alike will gain a deeper understanding of great photographers and their work, as Jeffrey decodes key images and provides essential biographical and historical background. Profiles of more than 100 major photographers, including Alfred Stieglitz, Bill Brandt, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Walker Evans, Paul Strand, Lazlo Moholy-Nagy, highlight particular examples of styles and movements throughout the history of the medium. Each entry includes a concise biography along with an illuminating discussion of key works and nuggets of contextual information.

Ideas without End offers the first complete retrospective of 100 of her photographs -- the majority of which have never been published -- from her earliest efforts at the turn of the century to the many now-famous images. A biographical essay by Richard Lorenz, a chronology of Cunningham's life and work, and a bibliography are also included.

Discusses the concept of documentary photographs, the Farm Security Administration, and the use of photography to influence the viewer.

From the first photograph by French inventor Niepce to the present, here is a collection of 51 outstanding photographs.

Ever since Roger Fenton inaugurated the genre by photographing the Crimean War in 1855, the world's great photojournalists have used a variety of approaches to bear witness to their times. From Frank Hurley’s groundbreaking World War I battlefield shots to Mary Ellen Mark’s stark portraits of American poverty and James Nachtwey’s haunting pictures of the September 11 attacks, the images in this book prove that even in our era of twenty-four-hour video-on demand, the still photograph remains as powerful as ever.

In the midst of the Great Depression, the American government initiated one of the most ambitious national photographic projects ever undertaken. Such photographers as Dorothea Lange, Walker Evans, and Gordon Parks--all then virtually unknown--were commissioned to chronicle in pictures the economic struggle and social dislocation of the Depression era. Fanning out across the country, these photographers captured a nation alive with religious faith--from Dust Bowl migrants singing hymns to orthodox Jews praying in rural Connecticut. In Picturing Faith, the preeminent historian of religion Colleen McDannell recounts the history of this extraordinary project, telling the stories of the men and women who participated in it and exploring these little-known images of America.

Both well-known and previously unpublished photographs join to present a new image of the 1930s, exposing gaps in our understanding of the important era of the New Deal in the U.S. and the Communist Five-Year Plans in the U.S.S.R.The photographs are as different as the two nations themselves during the period. Yet a close comparison also reveals a number of striking similarities. For example, photographs were used on a large scale for various kinds of propaganda in both countries -- in some cases with the photographers consent, in others without it. The accompanying texts provide, where possible, information about the people shown in the photographs and the photographers.

An examination of the camera work of five women photographers who worked during the 1930s and 1940s. During this era photography transformed the U.S. cultural landscape, this book shows how these photographers visually articulated the essential ideas occupying the American consciousness.

The Times of Sorrow and Hope book features 150 selected images from the approximately 6,000 Pennsylvania photographs, and they cover themes ranging from coal mining, steelworkers, and women in wartime industries to cities and small towns, farm life, family life, and life among the Amish and Mennonites. The book also includes an essay introducing the FSA-OWI project, an introduction to the catalog of the entire collection of Pennsylvania photographs, and a historical essay on Pennsylvania during the Great Depression and World War II. The website that accompanies this volume offers a complete catalog of all the FSA-OWI photos taken in the state as well as detailed descriptions and guides to the images.

For the first time, the Library of Congress presents a collection of touching and timeless photographs of children from its extraordinary photographic archive. When They Were Young reveals that the experience of childhood is connected across time through a broad presentation of eloquent images. Spanning the history of photography from the daguerreotype to documentary, each tritone image in this volume is illustrated on a full page.

Assembled from public and private collections the world over, the extraordinary images presented in this volume reflect the work of 73 women photographers from the mid-19th century to the present. They range from such early Victorian pioneers as Lady Clementina Hawarden to the recent work of Cindy Sherman, reconstructing a virtual pantheon. Each photographer is represented by several examples of her work, eliciting a gamut of emotions from the viewer--cerebral admiration in the case of Margaret Bourke-White's shots of technology; horror in response to Lee Miller's depiction of the liberated Dachau concentration camp.

The catalogue for a traveling exhibition of photographic images of groups including work by Lewis Hine, Richard Prince, Diane Arbus, Walker Evans, Dorothea Lange, Robert Doisneau, Thomas Struth, Neal Slavin, William Klein, Nicholas Nixon, Weegee, and others.