PHO150 Digital Photography: Julia Margaret Cameron

Published in conjunction with the exhibition, Julia Margaret Cameron's Women... exhibition dates, Art Institute of Chicago, 19 September 1998-10 January 1999; The Museum of Modern Art, New York, 17 January-4 May 1999; San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, 27 August-30 November 1999

From Life tells the story of the greatest portrait photographer of the Victorian age, Julia Margaret Cameron. Born in Calcutta in 1815, she married Charles Hay Cameron in 1865 and settled down to the quiet life of a typical Victorian colonial; but, beneath this conventional exterior, she was increasingly interested in photography, especially the new technologies that would allow images to be reproduced and preserved in a permanent form. Shortly after her marriage she began a long and affectionate correspondence with Sir John Herschel, the world-renowned scientist, who kept her informed about new developments in photography. In 1863, Cameron emerged as the leading portrait photographer of the day. Her work was chronicled in the diaries of her niece, Virginia Woolf, and she produced a series of portraits of distinguished Victorians including Tennyson, Carlyle and Darwin. This is a fascinating and meticulously researched biography of a remarkable female artist who was decades ahead of her time.

Francesca Woodman and Julia Margaret Cameron: Portraits to Dream In draws parallels between two of the most significant practitioners in the history of photography, presenting fresh research, rare vintage prints, and previously unseen archival works. Living and working over a century apart, Julia Margaret Cameron (1815-1879) and Francesca Woodman (1958-1981) experienced very different ways of making and understanding photographs. Spanning the careers of both artists, the beautifully illustrated catalogue includes their best-known photographs as well as less familiar images. The exhibition works are arranged into eight thematic sections with feature essays, offering an accessible, engaging opportunity to consider both artists in a new light. This publication presents the artists' exploration of portraiture as a 'dream space'. It makes new connections between their work, which pushed the boundaries of the photographic medium and experimented with ideas of beauty, symbolism, transformation and storytelling to produce some of art history's most compelling and admired photographs.

This huge, expansive book is an appropriate tribute to 150 years of photography.

From the first photograph by French inventor Niepce to the present, here is a collection of 51 outstanding photographs.

With A History of Women Photographers, Dr. Naomi Rosenblum helps set the record straight. She explores the work of some 240 women photographers, from Anna Atkins, Julia Margaret Cameron, and Genevieve-Elisabeth Francart Disderi to Tina Modotti, Lisette Model, Margaret Bourke-White, Louise Dahl-Wolfe, Susan Meiselas, and Cindy Sherman. Her ground-breaking work provides an invitingly readable chronicle both of the women's creativity and of the often-challenging contexts within which they worked. Many of these individuals have not previously received the sustained scholarly study needed to establish their importance to the field, and women photographers in general have long been stinted in photographic exhibitions, collections, and criticism, as Dr. Rosenblum makes pungently clear. In addition to the illuminating text and striking photographs are densely detailed individual biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography.

In association with the Chrisler Museum Bringing together the words & images of seventy-five of the world's greatest photographers, including Julia Margaret Cameron, Edward Steichen, Robert Mapplethorpe, & Sally Mann.

Novices and experts alike will gain a deeper understanding of great photographers and their work, as Jeffrey decodes key images and provides essential biographical and historical background. Profiles of more than 100 major photographers, including Alfred Stieglitz, Bill Brandt, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Walker Evans, Paul Strand, Lazlo Moholy-Nagy, highlight particular examples of styles and movements throughout the history of the medium. Each entry includes a concise biography along with an illuminating discussion of key works and nuggets of contextual information.

Assembled from public and private collections the world over, the extraordinary images presented in this volume reflect the work of 73 women photographers from the mid-19th century to the present. They range from such early Victorian pioneers as Lady Clementina Hawarden to the recent work of Cindy Sherman, reconstructing a virtual pantheon. Each photographer is represented by several examples of her work, eliciting a gamut of emotions from the viewer--cerebral admiration in the case of Margaret Bourke-White's shots of technology; horror in response to Lee Miller's depiction of the liberated Dachau concentration camp.