PHO150 Digital Photography: Lewis Hine

Lewis W. Hine's famous photographs, documenting the construction of what was then the world's tallest building, pay tribute to human vision, endeavor, and courage.

It was once common for children to work at jobs with little pay. Then a photographer named Lewis Hine urged this dangerous practice stop to with the power of his camera and the assistance of lawmakers. Learn more about the history of child labor in the United States and how it became outlawed.

Originally published in 1932, and now exceedingly rare, Men at Work takes us into coal mines, heavy industry, and tire and airplane factories. We see railroad workers in the shop, on the tracks and as train crews. Foundation men, connecters, bellmen, hoisters, derrick men, plumbers-up, riveters, buckers-up, catchers, burners, heaters, welders, bolt boys, sky boys -- the various trades of construction workers -- build from bedrock that great monument and symbol of twentieth-century life, the Empire State Building. For this edition 18 additional and extraordinary Hine photographs of this construction have been added.

A "social photographer" -- as he called himself -- Hine created images that documented children at work throughout New England, making the case for their exploitation in the North as he had for rural working children in the South. Hine staged his images, highlighting particular types of labor in specific places: the "newsies" in Connecticut cities; sardine canners in Eastport, Maine; cranberry pickers in Cape Cod bogs; industrial homeworkers in Boston and Providence; and cotton textile workers throughout the region. In telling the story of these photographs, their creation, and their reception, Macieski demonstrates how Hine worked to advance an unvarnished picture of a rapidly changing region and the young workers at the center of this important shift.

This volume by one of the fathers of social-documentary photography contains an outstanding collection of over 150 photographs of women in all sectors of labor and industry -- as telephone operators, garment workers, homemakers, rural workers, and more. Its stark images and powerful, dramatic expression constitute a superb historical document of working women from 1907 to 1938.

Featuring 250 photographs by over 150 different artists, this book surveys fine art photography in American throughout the 20th century.

Gathers American photographs taken between 1839-1939 in a variety of processes and styles.

A pathbreaking book, American Photography and the American Dream examines the most important photographers and developments in the documentary genre during this century. It encompasses the reform-era images of Francis Benjamin Johnston and Lewis Hine; the work of Farm Security Administration (FSA) photographers like Walker Evans and Dorothea Lange during both the 1930s and 1940s after the FSA photography unit broke up; the American-Way-of-Life pictures published by Life, Look, and the United States Information Agency during the 1940s and 1950s; the iconoclastic images of William Klein, Diane Arbus, and Robert Frank; and the work of four photographers of the 1970s and 1980s: Bill Owens, Chauncey Hare, Susan Meiselas, and Michael Williamson. These images, he shows, are not merely pictures on museum walls but revelations that can help us understand how we as Americans have seen ourselves, one another, and the world around us.

American history is punctuated by defining moments-some proud, some tragic, some beautiful. Photography has made it possible for these moments to be captured and shared with the public. As the craft has evolved from unwieldy glass negatives to digital imagery, the photographs themselves have changed the way we see the world. From Mathew Brady's startling Civil War photographs to NASA's stunning images of the universe, this book highlights twelve photographers whose work has truly changed the nation.

Novices and experts alike will gain a deeper understanding of great photographers and their work, as Jeffrey decodes key images and provides essential biographical and historical background. Profiles of more than 100 major photographers, including Alfred Stieglitz, Bill Brandt, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Walker Evans, Paul Strand, Lazlo Moholy-Nagy, highlight particular examples of styles and movements throughout the history of the medium. Each entry includes a concise biography along with an illuminating discussion of key works and nuggets of contextual information.

Includes short essays on the photographers (Ansel Adams, Diane Arbus, Brassai, Laura Gilpin, Man Ray, Josef Sudek, Edward Weston, and others) accompanied by one of their photos.

Ever since Roger Fenton inaugurated the genre by photographing the Crimean War in 1855, the world's great photojournalists have used a variety of approaches to bear witness to their times. From Frank Hurley’s groundbreaking World War I battlefield shots to Mary Ellen Mark’s stark portraits of American poverty and James Nachtwey’s haunting pictures of the September 11 attacks, the images in this book prove that even in our era of twenty-four-hour video-on demand, the still photograph remains as powerful as ever.

Escorting a millennium exhibit being held at the National Archives and Records Administration in Washington, DC, March 1999- January 2001, this catalog of 163 photos (22 in color) showcases the portfolios of Ansel Adams, Dorothea Lange, and others represented in NARA's holdings who captured the cent

In this book, Alan Trachtenberg reinterprets some of America's most significant photographs, presenting them not as static images but rather as rich cultural texts suffused with meaning and historical content. Reading American Photographs is lavishly illustrated with the work of such luminaries as Mathew Brady, Timothy O'Sullivan, and Walker Evans - pictures that document the American experience from 1839 to 1938. In an outstanding analysis, Trachtenberg eloquently articulates how the art of photography has both followed and shaped the course of American history, and how images captured decades ago provocatively illuminate the present.

For the first time, the Library of Congress presents a collection of touching and timeless photographs of children from its extraordinary photographic archive. When They Were Young reveals that the experience of childhood is connected across time through a broad presentation of eloquent images. Spanning the history of photography from the daguerreotype to documentary, each tritone image in this volume is illustrated on a full page.

Documentary photographers explore the crucial issues and events of our time. Building on the traditions and passions of their predecessors, they are devising new strategies to address the obstacles and opportunities created by rapid media changes and intensified cross-cultural contact.

The catalogue for a traveling exhibition of photographic images of groups including work by Lewis Hine, Richard Prince, Diane Arbus, Walker Evans, Dorothea Lange, Robert Doisneau, Thomas Struth, Neal Slavin, William Klein, Nicholas Nixon, Weegee, and others.