PHO150 Digital Photography: Margaret Bourke-White

Margaret Bourke-White is an internationally renowned photojournalist who, from the 1920s through the 1950s, tirelessly recorded the objects, people, and events that shaped history. Famous first as an industrial photographer, then as one of the four original staff members of Life magazine (her photograph graced its first cover), her vision and camera took her where others had never dared to venture. This new volume of her legendary work is more complete than any volume published to date. Drawing from her personal archives at Syracuse University and including the entire range of her photographic endeavors, it includes her earliest industrial work, striking portraits, and visual essays depicting horrendous social conditions. Alongside portraits of Churchill, Stalin, and Gandhi are photographs of cavernous steel mills, South African coal mines, Soviet Russia, Buchenwald, and the impoverished streets of India.

Many full-page plates of the photographs of commercial photographer Bourke-White, as well as photos by her contemporaries, are presented in this handsome catalogue, published in conjunction with an exhibition held at the Phillips Collection in Washington, DC in 2003.

For more than thirty years, Margaret Bourke-White had made photographic history as the first photographer to see the artistic and storytelling possibilities in American industry, as the first to write social criticism with a lens, and as the most distinguished and venturesome foreign correspondent-with-a camera to report wars, politics and social and political revolution on three continents. In the world of pictures, of magazines, of books, she won fame and fortune. Here are the tales of her struggles to master her art and craft, of photographing Stalin, Gandhi and many other notables, of being torpedoed off North Africa while reporting World War II, of flying combat missions, of photographing the dread murder camps of Nazi Germany, of touring Tobacco Road to produce the book You Have Seen Their Faces with Erskine Caldwell (whom she later married), of adventures and wonderful picture-taking in the mines of South Africa, in the frozen North, in war-torn Korea.

This book represents the work of every LIFE magazine staff photographer from the 20th century, as well as a handful of others closely affiliated with the magazine, including Alfred Eisenstadt, Margaret Bourke-White, Gordon Parks, Eugene Smith, and Joe McNally. THE GREAT LIFE PHOTOGRAPHERS presents the most iconic images of the past century, as well as little-known gems from the LIFE archives. Many of these images are markers of the major milestones of history--the first pictures from inside the womb or from outer space, Robert Capa’s falling soldier, and memorable scenes from Tiananmen Square. Defining celebrity portraits of Sophia Loren, Marilyn Monroe, the Beatles, and Michael Jackson are also featured. This startingly rich collection of both color and black-and-white photographs is a vivid fulfillment of Henry Luces charge: To see life; to see the world....To be amazed!

An examination of the camera work of five women photographers who worked during the 1930s and 1940s. During this era photography transformed the U.S. cultural landscape, this book shows how these photographers visually articulated the essential ideas occupying the American consciousness.

From the first photograph by French inventor Niepce to the present, here is a collection of 51 outstanding photographs.

From well-known luminaries of the medium such as Arbus, Goldin, Lange, Cunningham, Cindy Sherman and Annie Leibovitz, to far less known figures, this book celebrates the role women have had in shaping photography's vision.

With A History of Women Photographers, Dr. Naomi Rosenblum helps set the record straight. She explores the work of some 240 women photographers, from Anna Atkins, Julia Margaret Cameron, and Genevieve-Elisabeth Francart Disderi to Tina Modotti, Lisette Model, Margaret Bourke-White, Louise Dahl-Wolfe, Susan Meiselas, and Cindy Sherman. Her ground-breaking work provides an invitingly readable chronicle both of the women's creativity and of the often-challenging contexts within which they worked. Many of these individuals have not previously received the sustained scholarly study needed to establish their importance to the field, and women photographers in general have long been stinted in photographic exhibitions, collections, and criticism, as Dr. Rosenblum makes pungently clear. In addition to the illuminating text and striking photographs are densely detailed individual biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography.

Pittsburgh: The Story of an American City follows Pittsburgh from its frontier beginnings through its evolution into the most heavily industrialized city in the world, to the city's renewal of itself as "America's Most Livable City." This beautiful volume though, is much more than the story of a single city; it is the history of the United States. This book is based on years of research and includes contributions by such noted American historians as Henry Steele Commager and Oscar Handlin. More than 1100 pictures recreate the city's dramatic 200+year history. Featured are photographs by W. Eugene Smith, Margaret Bourke-White, Norman W. Schumm, Lorant himself and others. A chronology of events from 1717 offers historical snapshots in the day to day life of the archetypical American city.